Download Construct 2 release 32.2

Discussion and feedback on Construct 2

Post » Mon Apr 18, 2011 8:48 am

It shouldn't be necessary. C2 saves the state of the UI (dialog sizes and positions amongst other things) in the registry. Sometimes new builds change the UI - adding or removing controls from a dialog, and so on. This can make the old saved registry data invalid. It still tries to load it, though, and as a result it gets interpreted as corrupt data. Like you found, it can end up with dialogs not appearing.

Usually I remember to put a note in the changelog stating that you need to clear the registry when I make such changes - I must've forgotten.
Scirra Founder
B
359
S
214
G
72
Posts: 22,946
Reputation: 178,518

Post » Mon Apr 18, 2011 9:08 am

Thanks Ash. Quick question - is picking working? Cause it's not for me, specifically for destroying one of many objects.
B
55
S
12
G
8
Posts: 339
Reputation: 9,314

Post » Tue Apr 19, 2011 5:34 pm

Picking should work, can you post a .capx reproducing the specific problem?
Scirra Founder
B
359
S
214
G
72
Posts: 22,946
Reputation: 178,518

Post » Tue Apr 19, 2011 6:08 pm

Is FastLoop half implemented?
B
11
S
3
G
8
Posts: 473
Reputation: 4,569

Post » Wed Apr 20, 2011 4:36 pm

@Azu, what do you mean? C2 has dropped the old style of loops since it uses looping conditions like For and For Each which are entirely better.
Scirra Founder
B
359
S
214
G
72
Posts: 22,946
Reputation: 178,518

Post » Wed Apr 20, 2011 6:59 pm

I was doing a platform engine and I didn't see an On Loop condition.
B
11
S
3
G
8
Posts: 473
Reputation: 4,569

Post » Wed Apr 20, 2011 7:02 pm

The 'Start Loop'/'On loop' system has been entirely removed from Construct 2, because it is redundant. The 'For'/'For Each' looping conditions are much better - they read better, and run faster. You should use them instead!
Scirra Founder
B
359
S
214
G
72
Posts: 22,946
Reputation: 178,518

Post » Wed Apr 20, 2011 10:02 pm

I usually do

Bottom Sensor Overlaps background
-Start Loop "anti-sink" for 32 times

On Loop "anti-sink"
- Set Mask to MasK.Y-1
- Set Bottom Sensor to Bottom Sensor.Y-1

So, how do that with use For/For Each?
B
11
S
3
G
8
Posts: 473
Reputation: 4,569

Post » Wed Apr 20, 2011 10:08 pm

Quite simple :)

+ Bottom sensor overlaps background
+ Repeat 32 times
-> Set Mask to Mask.Y - 1
-> Set Bottom Sensor to Bottom Sensor.Y - 1
Scirra Founder
B
359
S
214
G
72
Posts: 22,946
Reputation: 178,518

Post » Thu Apr 21, 2011 12:15 am

[quote="Ashley":3sbyulwx]The 'For'/'For Each' looping conditions are much better - they read better, and run faster. You should use them instead![/quote:3sbyulwx]

Is this true of Construct 1 as well?
B
134
S
65
G
16
Posts: 1,765
Reputation: 19,188

PreviousNext

Return to Construct 2 General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Avengium, DonpatchXD, Prominent and 14 guests