Download Construct 2 release 41.2

Discussion and feedback on Construct 2

Post » Mon Jun 13, 2011 6:29 pm

Ok Ashley, will give it a go, i wasn't sure what path i would need to include though?

Im trying to create something i could put on a disc to include with a C.V.
B
19
S
6
G
7
Posts: 1,206
Reputation: 7,300

Post » Mon Jun 13, 2011 6:33 pm

Oh right - the standard way to specify a file in a URL is with the File URI scheme, e.g.:
file:///C:/path/to/file.txt
Note the three forward slashes after "file:", and forwards slashes also separate the folders (as opposed to backwards slashes when not using "file:").
Scirra Founder
B
359
S
214
G
72
Posts: 22,952
Reputation: 178,600

Post » Mon Jun 13, 2011 8:10 pm

Ashley with regards to my earlier question about the browser object, i tried a couple of variations:

[color=#0000BF:qxxt89ju]Mouse-on left button click on object
Browser "C:\Documents and Settings\brobs\My Documents\construct2 games\CV PROJECT\Open pics\photos\me.png"[/color:qxxt89ju]

This allowed me to click on a sprite(thumbnail image) an it opened the larger image in a seperate window. (what i wanted)

[color=#0000BF:qxxt89ju]Mouse-on left button click on object
Browser "C:\Documents and Settings\brobs\My Documents\construct2 games\CV PROJECT\Open pics\photos"[/color:qxxt89ju]

This opened the following (list of files) in a seperate window:

Index of C:\Documents and Settings\brobs\My Documents\construct2 games\CV PROJect
Name Size Date Modified
[parent directory]
me.png 31.7 kB 13/06/2011 19:51:34
UFO caught on video .png 21.8 kB 13/06/2011 20:20:26
UFO caught on video.png 21.8 kB 13/06/2011 20:19:44
UFO field crash.png 42.4 kB 13/06/2011 20:18:34

[color=#0000BF:qxxt89ju]Mouse-on left button click on object
Browser "C:\Documents and Settings\brobs\My Documents\construct2 games\CV PROJECT\Open pics\runexe\fullsquare2.cap"[/color:qxxt89ju]

This downloaded the cap file named 'full square2' to my downloads folder, i was hoping to run it?

Hope this makes sense.
B
19
S
6
G
7
Posts: 1,206
Reputation: 7,300

Post » Mon Jun 13, 2011 8:16 pm

Does it work if you export an EXE and run that? I would not be surprised if browsers prevent you from launching EXEs (even the Construct editor) though, because it would be a security risk.

Did you try the file:/// protocol as well?
Scirra Founder
B
359
S
214
G
72
Posts: 22,952
Reputation: 178,600

Post » Mon Jun 13, 2011 8:58 pm

[quote="Ashley":9pmtic3g]Does it work if you export an EXE and run that? I would not be surprised if browsers prevent you from launching EXEs (even the Construct editor) though, because it would be a security risk.

Did you try the file:/// protocol as well?[/quote:9pmtic3g]

I uploaded the exe file to dropbox, when i clicked the link it just downloaded the file to my downloads file (in preview)

Same thing when i exported the project and tried again.

"Did you try the file:/// protocol as well?"

Still trying to work this out, i downloaded the wiki page to study, bit of a brain block, but i will keep trying.
B
19
S
6
G
7
Posts: 1,206
Reputation: 7,300

Post » Mon Jun 13, 2011 10:20 pm

You might be trying to get browsers to do something they're not designed to - there are many security measures for safe browsing that probably prevent you launching EXEs. Why not use Classic if that's essential?
Scirra Founder
B
359
S
214
G
72
Posts: 22,952
Reputation: 178,600

Post » Tue Jun 14, 2011 9:54 am

[quote="Ashley":3ono2c8g]You might be trying to get browsers to do something they're not designed to - there are many security measures for safe browsing that probably prevent you launching EXEs. Why not use Classic if that's essential?[/quote:3ono2c8g]

The fact that i can link to web pages, images and youtube vids is just what i needed anyway.
Classic not an option for this because of the DirectX installation issue.

Thanks for your help...keep the updates flowing. :D
B
19
S
6
G
7
Posts: 1,206
Reputation: 7,300

Post » Tue Jun 14, 2011 10:38 am

I haven't downloaded this release yet, this is more of a "I'd wish this feature for a next release" kind of post.
I would like to have the color filter (as a property like in CC, or maybe a behavior) in a next release (if it fits in the actual todo list without much harm).

Thanks in advance, keep up the good work.
New to Construct ? Where to start

Image Image
Image Image

Please attach a capx to any help request or bug report !
Moderator
B
247
S
85
G
40
Posts: 7,000
Reputation: 57,795

Post » Tue Jun 14, 2011 12:52 pm

[quote="Kyatric":1livkz88]I would like to have the color filter (as a property like in CC, or maybe a behavior) in a next release (if it fits in the actual todo list without much harm).[/quote:1livkz88]
Color filter is one of the things HTML5 canvas doesn't support. It can be worked around with a sort of setpixel method, but then it starts using lots of memory and it's very slow to change filters, so I'd prefer to stick to the native features of canvas.

WebGL would support this, and very interestingly I've seen Google just released a "JebGL" java fallback for WebGL in IE, so that may be a possibility...
Scirra Founder
B
359
S
214
G
72
Posts: 22,952
Reputation: 178,600

Post » Tue Jun 14, 2011 9:38 pm

[quote="Ashley":18fdfq9j]Color filter is one of the things HTML5 canvas doesn't support. It can be worked around with a sort of setpixel method, but then it starts using lots of memory and it's very slow to change filters, so I'd prefer to stick to the native features of canvas.[/quote:18fdfq9j]

That's fair enough.
Anyway, I think their could be some workaround too with juxtaposition of two sprites (one is color, the other the character or w/e) and the method of blending. I'll get to try it soon.
New to Construct ? Where to start

Image Image
Image Image

Please attach a capx to any help request or bug report !
Moderator
B
247
S
85
G
40
Posts: 7,000
Reputation: 57,795

PreviousNext

Return to Construct 2 General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Unconnected and 7 guests