Download Construct 2 release 42

Discussion and feedback on Construct 2

Post » Wed Jun 15, 2011 12:55 am

[size=200:1n04uvqz]Download Construct 2 public preview 42[/size:1n04uvqz]
[size=85:1n04uvqz]Link to release 41.2[/size:1n04uvqz]

New this build: event includes!



A difference to Classic is that instead of choosing an event sheet by a right-click menu, a dialog pops up. This allows you to search event sheets, which is designed to be more manageable for large applications.



Double-clicking an include will open the event sheet it includes, allowing for quick navigation around event sheets.

Another new feature is I've now added a setup application. Previously the download was just a .zip with both the 32-bit and 64-bit editors pasted in. The setup application takes care of this for you:
[list:1n04uvqz][*:1n04uvqz]If you are on 32-bit Windows, the setup will automatically install the 32-bit editor. If you are in 64-bit Windows, the setup will automatically install the 64-bit editor.[/*:m:1n04uvqz]
[*:1n04uvqz]The setup should run even if you are on a limited user account (i.e. not an administrator). The default install directory will then be the user AppData directory. This should allow you to still install Construct 2 on computers in schools, libraries and workplaces where you are working in a limited user account.[/*:m:1n04uvqz]
[*:1n04uvqz]The filesize is actually smaller than the old .zip![/*:m:1n04uvqz]
[*:1n04uvqz]Remember the install is portable, so you can install to e.g. a USB memory stick and take it with you.[/*:m:1n04uvqz][/list:u:1n04uvqz]

The first two points need testing: I only have access to a 32-bit machine. For those of you with 64-bit systems, can you ensure the 64-bit editor is installed (open the About screen to find out) and let me know it installed the correct one?

Secondly, if you're on a limited account, can you verify the setup still works? I have tried it under a limited account I set up specially, but I want to check it works out there in the real world too.

Let me know how it works, thanks!

[size=150:1n04uvqz]Changelog[/size:1n04uvqz]
- [Feature] Event sheet includes
- [Feature] New setup program
- [Add] 'Move at angle' action to objects with a position.
- [Add] 'Add group', 'Add variable' and 'Add include' to the events ribbon tab.
- [Add] 'Export project' to file menu
Scirra Founder
B
359
S
214
G
72
Posts: 22,951
Reputation: 178,578

Post » Wed Jun 15, 2011 1:11 am

Nice, I like the pacing of these new releases :) .

Also, Does html5 support any kind of color filter for sprites? If so, it should be added asap, it's really useful.

A Custom movement behavior port, and better collisions would be nice to have after animations are done. Custom movement is really underrated. It's practically the only behavior I use for movement, since it does everything. Families and containers should be after that.

Just putting out what I think should come next. :)
B
25
S
3
G
6
Posts: 1,197
Reputation: 5,620

Post » Wed Jun 15, 2011 1:16 am

I mentioned briefly why we can't do color filter in the last build thread. Sorry, HTML5 canvas just doesn't have it.
Scirra Founder
B
359
S
214
G
72
Posts: 22,951
Reputation: 178,578

Post » Wed Jun 15, 2011 2:11 am

64bit install is OK! My day has pretty much sucked, so this was nice surprise.
B
51
S
10
G
7
Posts: 184
Reputation: 6,825

Post » Wed Jun 15, 2011 6:59 am

Hopefully HTML5 canvas will get that colour filter added later, I love that thing.
B
134
S
65
G
16
Posts: 1,766
Reputation: 19,190

Post » Wed Jun 15, 2011 10:28 am

I prefer zip file download, atleast for now while its not yet released.
B
9
S
1
G
2
Posts: 10
Reputation: 1,685

Post » Wed Jun 15, 2011 1:03 pm

Hey ash. I'm not getting much responsiveness from the Mouse object in my game, but it works in simpler tests... Does the "Object is clicked" condition ignore all other sprites on top of the object being tested?

Edit: Mouse.X and Mouse.Y don't appear to be outputting anything...

And is text wrapping yet? Because it doesn't seem to be for me.
B
55
S
12
G
8
Posts: 339
Reputation: 9,314

Post » Wed Jun 15, 2011 2:04 pm

It may be just me, but I think the way sprites are handled is still quite uncomfortable.

The old image editor had the ability to load images previously generated by any other program. Now mspaint opens (for most Windows users), which, despite some useful changes in 7, is still not a serious program for game art.

I would like to just chose "Sprite", click "Insert" and then have the choice wether I want to open external images already generated by any program or open up my default image editor.

Even better would be the possibility to chose your default image editor just for C2. I may be able to change the default image editor for Windows globally by registry-fiddling, but this should'nt be required.

Just some suggestions from my side.
Best regards,
Nol
B
3
G
2
Posts: 35
Reputation: 770

Post » Wed Jun 15, 2011 2:21 pm

[quote="cow_trix":3m0pgju9]Hey ash. I'm not getting much responsiveness from the Mouse object in my game, but it works in simpler tests... Does the "Object is clicked" condition ignore all other sprites on top of the object being tested?

Edit: Mouse.X and Mouse.Y don't appear to be outputting anything...

And is text wrapping yet? Because it doesn't seem to be for me.[/quote:3m0pgju9]
Sounds like something's gone pretty wrong - is that new to this build or have old builds done it too? Which browser are you using? Can you upload a .capx that shows what's going wrong?

@Dunkelseele: we of course want to make an image editor that matches Classic's capabilities - it's just early in the alpha and we haven't finished the built in editor yet. Launching an external editor is only a temporary measure until we have finished our own editor.
Scirra Founder
B
359
S
214
G
72
Posts: 22,951
Reputation: 178,578

Post » Wed Jun 15, 2011 4:19 pm

[quote="karolis":sxksor91]I prefer zip file download, atleast for now while its not yet released.[/quote:sxksor91]

I also really prefer the zip. If it can be installed and run anywhere (i.e., doesn't make any changes to the registry or deposit files in unusual places) then what does an installer do anyway?
B
5
S
2
G
4
Posts: 14
Reputation: 2,422

Next

Return to Construct 2 General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: bclikesyou, Ragevortex and 13 guests