Dr. Horrible's Ice-Ship Game

Post your Construct-made creations!

Post » Mon Sep 08, 2008 11:33 am

[quote="ramoneces":4r0hyfu9]The only sound is the series' intro theme at the starting. [/quote:4r0hyfu9]

I don't even hear that. And yours isn't the first Construct game I've played where I can't hear the sounds. Again, I'm wondering if you created them as external files or have them embedded in the .exe as a resource.

[quote="ramoneces":4r0hyfu9]I don't know how to make the .exe file not to create the log .txt.[/quote:4r0hyfu9]

Me neither, it's been something I've been meaning to ask about. I didn't know if it was Construct or my stupid AC3Filter codec thingy with the annoying interface that's a pain in the butt. I guess Construct is generating them?
Moderator
B
5
S
2
G
6
Posts: 4,348
Reputation: 10,971

Post » Mon Sep 08, 2008 6:15 pm

[quote="deadeye":2jg3jk9a]I don't even hear that. Again, I'm wondering if you created them as external files or have them embedded in the .exe as a resource.[/quote:2jg3jk9a]

I'm sorry, you were so right. If I delete the external mp3 file there's no sound. Any clue about integrating it in the exe file?

[quote="deadeye":2jg3jk9a]I guess Construct is generating the log file?[/quote:2jg3jk9a]

No, i have just uninstalled Construct and the log keeps turning up after execution. The *.exe creates it. We must have some parameter enabled.
B
2
G
4
Posts: 31
Reputation: 1,112

Post » Mon Sep 08, 2008 6:48 pm

[quote="ramoneces":3aijipk0]I'm sorry, you were so right. If I delete the external mp3 file there's no sound. Any clue about integrating it in the exe file?[/quote:3aijipk0]

To integrate sounds into the game, go to the resources tab on the right side of the screen. Then, rightclick on binary, click addfile, and select the sound you want to add. Now all you have to do to play it is use the "Autoplay resource" action under the DirectSound object. Hope that helps. :)
Moderator
B
98
S
37
G
19
Posts: 1,584
Reputation: 17,817

Post » Mon Sep 08, 2008 9:16 pm

Thanks, linkman, that helps. The audio seems to be implemented now but it doesnt work. I did what you said but...
B
2
G
4
Posts: 31
Reputation: 1,112

Post » Mon Sep 08, 2008 9:36 pm

Are your sounds WAV files? The DirectSound object doesn't support MP3s, if I'm not mistaken.
Moderator
B
98
S
37
G
19
Posts: 1,584
Reputation: 17,817

Post » Mon Sep 08, 2008 10:03 pm

[quote="linkman2004":1w0kjs30]Are your sounds WAV files? The DirectSound object doesn't support MP3s, if I'm not mistaken.[/quote:1w0kjs30]

Oh great, thanks that was the problem. Only standard audio files.
B
2
G
4
Posts: 31
Reputation: 1,112

Post » Mon Sep 08, 2008 11:26 pm

If you have an .mp3 as your background music, just put it in the .rar file along with your .exe. Make sure the relative paths match what you have coded in your .cap.
Moderator
B
5
S
2
G
6
Posts: 4,348
Reputation: 10,971

Post » Tue Sep 09, 2008 8:24 am

I decided to ad the audio as a resource instead. It's a little heavier, but i think it's better to have just one file. I appreciate all your help.

Here it is the 2.1 version with several playing improvements. I added controlling information , a crappy icon and some bugs fixed.
Fileshack.us (1,03Mb) (.rar) --> [url:2aqki5dt]http://tinyurl.com/5vudg2[/url:2aqki5dt]
B
2
G
4
Posts: 31
Reputation: 1,112

Post » Tue Sep 09, 2008 4:56 pm

[quote="linkman2004":1dfe8ldi]Are your sounds WAV files? The DirectSound object doesn't support MP3s, if I'm not mistaken.[/quote:1dfe8ldi]
The samples on channels only support PCM WAVs, but the 'Play music' action supports MP3, WMA, anything Windows Media Player does.
Scirra Founder
B
359
S
214
G
72
Posts: 22,952
Reputation: 178,600

Post » Tue Sep 09, 2008 9:56 pm

[quote="Ashley":3syk5o78]The samples on channels only support PCM WAVs, but the 'Play music' action supports MP3, WMA, anything Windows Media Player does.[/quote:3syk5o78]

Thanks, I got it. And what about the icon?. Which is the maximum size fo the aplication icon. I noticed that if it's too large (50X50)it looks kinda distorted in the exe. I don't know how to make the png to keep it's resolution.
B
2
G
4
Posts: 31
Reputation: 1,112

PreviousNext

Return to Your Creations

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests