Droid Turbo only supports Arial Font

Get help using Construct 2

Post » Tue Mar 01, 2016 4:27 am

In Construct 2 for the Text font, i tried different fonts: Calibri, Tahoma, and Dejavu Sans. When I put the game onto the phone to test it however, the font is always the same. The font (Calibri, Tahoma, Dejavu Sans) does not show on the phone.

The font changes in Construct 2, but the font stays exactly the same when the game is on the phone. I did a side by side comparison test and there is no distinguishing them. No matter what font I set in Construct 2, the Droid turbo does not use it. It only uses Arial.
B
20
S
7
G
3
Posts: 302
Reputation: 3,634

Post » Tue Mar 01, 2016 4:30 am

The space between the lines of text is a bit small. Is there a way to increase spacing between the lines?
B
20
S
7
G
3
Posts: 302
Reputation: 3,634

Post » Tue Mar 01, 2016 4:40 am

Confirmed. I did Segoe Script in Construct 2, and on the Droid Turbo when i run the game to test it the font is normal Arial.

Does the Droid Turbo only support one kind of font? and if it supports more than one, which Construct 2 fonts will mobile phones support? It's really disappointing that the Droid Turbo, if that is the case, does not support a variety of fonts. Construct 2 offers a variety of fonts that can be used in projects. The Droid Turbo, as advanced as it is, really should be able to support a variety of fonts.

Unless there is something in Construct 2 that I am missing. Is there a setting that allows phones to use different fonts be displayed, fonts from Construct 2? Like a setting that allows the Droid Turbo to use the font that has been selected in Construct 2?
B
20
S
7
G
3
Posts: 302
Reputation: 3,634

Post » Tue Mar 01, 2016 5:27 am

I can't claim to have expertise with a droid (perhaps you can change fonts in a setting to see what's available, if that exists), but I believe you can get around this problem by using sprite fonts.

https://www.scirra.com/tutorials/629/sp ... ere/page-3
B
71
S
41
G
24
Posts: 356
Reputation: 18,464

Post » Tue Mar 01, 2016 5:32 am

ultrafop wrote:I can't claim to have expertise with a droid (perhaps you can change fonts in a setting to see what's available, if that exists), but I believe you can get around this problem by using sprite fonts.

https://www.scirra.com/tutorials/629/sp ... ere/page-3


I did see the Sprite Font object. Is there a way to take a Font that is in the text object menu, and apply its parameters to a sprite font?
B
20
S
7
G
3
Posts: 302
Reputation: 3,634

Post » Tue Mar 01, 2016 6:47 am

Well, I think you'd need to make a new sprite font. There's a nifty utility that could be useful for you:
sprite-font-generator-v2_t86546

This thread also has some good links for free spritefonts:
anyone-know-where-to-get-good-free-spritefonts_t85419

Happy constructing!
B
71
S
41
G
24
Posts: 356
Reputation: 18,464

Post » Tue Mar 01, 2016 10:44 am

Phoenixbowman wrote:Does the Droid Turbo only support one kind of font? and if it supports more than one, which Construct 2 fonts will mobile phones support? It's really disappointing that the Droid Turbo, if that is the case, does not support a variety of fonts. Construct 2 offers a variety of fonts that can be used in projects.


To be clear, Construct 2 does not offer any fonts. The fonts available to you in Construct 2 are those it has found installed on your computer. Different operating systems (Windows, Mac, iOS, Android etc.) offer different fonts. Even two Windows 7 PCs will not have all the same fonts, although they all start off with the same basic font set, but not the same basic ones as on a Mac or a Windows 10 PC.

When you use a font, for example, Tekton Pro, in a game that is then displayed on my PC, my PC goes to look up if it has that font installed. If it doesn't, it looks at a font substitution file that says "if Tekton Pro isn't found, use an alternative that is in the same family of fonts" (decorative, serif, extra bold, whatever). What your phone is doing, because it doesn't use Windows fonts, is substituting your Arial with its own installed font substitute (which may look identical to Windows' Arial but will probably be something different). Your phone is telling you that all of the different fonts you have tried in the game you have designed are in the same font family as its built-in "Arial substitute" and so it uses that.

The above is, in general, why you shouldn't ever use anything other than web safe fonts in HTML5 games and if you're going to upload them to iOS or Android you should stick to the very plainest Arial-type fonts (which can still prove hazardous depending on the character set you use) or, as already advised, use Sprite fonts which have a bigger payload but over which you have complete control.

"To be yourself in a world that is constantly trying to make you something else is the greatest accomplishment."

Ralph Waldo Emerson
B
10
S
2
G
1
Posts: 56
Reputation: 1,300

Post » Tue Mar 01, 2016 6:15 pm

In order to use Sprite Font, are art skills needed? Or can the Sprite font generator use pre-made fonts such as, set Sprite Font generator to use Tahoma.

If I use the Sprite Font object in Construct 2, should it show the correct font, since it's considered a graphic instead of an actual font?
B
20
S
7
G
3
Posts: 302
Reputation: 3,634

Post » Tue Mar 01, 2016 6:51 pm

This is for a text based game. Each paragraph would be its own sprite font object. Over a bunch of Layouts. that's several, several paragraphs. A whole bunch of them. They will all have to be Sprite Fonts then. I don't think a text-based game will work in Construct 2. Not if, in order to show different fonts, each paragraph would need to be its own Sprite Font object.

For graphics based games, Construct 2 takes the Golden Gem of AAA Excellence Grand Prize. I am amazed at the wonderful software the very skilled people at Scirra made. I just think for text based, Construct 2 is not the best way to go.
B
20
S
7
G
3
Posts: 302
Reputation: 3,634

Post » Wed Mar 02, 2016 11:37 am

Android devices don't tend to ship with many fonts, and very few that overlap with Windows. C2 shows the fonts on your system, but this is a bit misleading since it's easy to pick fonts which aren't widely available.

Web Fonts and SpriteFonts are both ways around this, since they don't rely on anything being preinstalled. For long bodies of text I'd recommend web fonts, they tend to flow more naturally.
Scirra Founder
B
402
S
238
G
89
Posts: 24,613
Reputation: 195,993


Return to How do I....?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: John Cutter and 10 guests