Duplicate layout and Event sheet

Discussion and feedback on Construct 2

Post » Thu Oct 10, 2013 2:32 pm

I think that would be better duplicate "Event sheet" together with the layout.

Currently can duplicate just layout using same original Event sheet

Lett me now about that!
B
17
S
5
G
1
Posts: 35
Reputation: 1,956

Post » Thu Oct 10, 2013 2:44 pm

Well, I would guess the goal would be to have one event sheet that controls both layouts -- that way you don't have to duplicate all that code.

I may create a smaller version of my main layout, but all the same components will be there and I want it to function the exact same way, so I would only want one event sheet.

If I make changes to the events, they would work in both layouts. COOL!
B
22
S
4
G
1
Posts: 100
Reputation: 2,150

Post » Thu Oct 10, 2013 2:47 pm

You should *never* duplicate an entire event sheet. Doubling up all your events will make it a nightmare to maintain them. Use includes instead!
Scirra Founder
B
399
S
236
G
89
Posts: 24,519
Reputation: 195,361

Post » Thu Oct 10, 2013 6:24 pm

I know, but each layout in my project has a little different code.
For standard commands I usoe "include" with all another codes.

How I do it using just one Event sheet?
B
17
S
5
G
1
Posts: 35
Reputation: 1,956

Post » Thu Oct 10, 2013 7:54 pm

I am doubling layout 1 and remaking the another layouts. I think that better way!
B
17
S
5
G
1
Posts: 35
Reputation: 1,956

Post » Thu Oct 10, 2013 8:07 pm

Since what you're doing is not common and not recommended, you'd have to go the long route. Copy the Layout, create a new event page, and then copy the code from the old event page to the new one manually.

There is probably a better way to do what you want however.
B
22
S
4
G
1
Posts: 100
Reputation: 2,150

Post » Thu Oct 10, 2013 8:12 pm

Actually, copying the events manually isn't what anyone would call hard.

Click on the margin of the first event, (margin is next to the number)
hold down shift and click the margin of that last one and hit copy.

You now have the event sheet in the clipboard.

Edit:
Silly me, I didn't know the hot key worked.
Control A will select all events, even faster.Paradox2013-10-10 20:16:10
B
239
S
62
G
33
Posts: 903
Reputation: 40,562

Post » Thu Oct 10, 2013 8:46 pm

I don't wanna copy the event sheet. I wanted duplicate when do it in the layout.

But now I am using one event sheet for all layouts

Many thanks
B
17
S
5
G
1
Posts: 35
Reputation: 1,956


Return to Construct 2 General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 17 guests