Easier bug submission

New releases and general discussions.

Post » Mon Mar 29, 2010 1:46 am

[quote="Drule":vtxym54e]Ashley seems pretty opposed to the idea and I guess she's free to work on the project in the way she's most comfortable with[/quote:vtxym54e]

*Cough*... Ok, honest mistake. :mrgreen:

But yea, the tracker is the best place for bugs. A forum would be so disorganized it's not even funny. Also, bug reports without detail or .caps are next to useless, which is what 90% of the forum posts would inevitably end up being. The tracker forces you to give some detail. It's better to keep everything in one place anyway.
B
25
S
3
G
6
Posts: 1,197
Reputation: 5,620

Post » Mon Mar 29, 2010 1:51 am

[quote="Davioware":1cfraj2c][quote="Drule":1cfraj2c]Ashley seems pretty opposed to the idea and I guess she's free to work on the project in the way she's most comfortable with[/quote:1cfraj2c]
*Cough*... Ok, honest mistake. :mrgreen:[/quote:1cfraj2c]
Maybe I should make a thread about this to alleviate all of the confusion. ;)
Moderator
B
98
S
37
G
19
Posts: 1,584
Reputation: 17,817

Post » Mon Mar 29, 2010 2:20 am

I don't get it.
B
2
S
1
G
3
Posts: 71
Reputation: 1,142

Post » Mon Mar 29, 2010 2:39 am

Ashley is a dude not a girl.
B
5
S
2
G
4
Posts: 632
Reputation: 2,829

Post » Mon Mar 29, 2010 2:51 am

Okay. I didn't know that.
B
2
S
1
G
3
Posts: 71
Reputation: 1,142

Post » Mon Mar 29, 2010 10:51 am

Hehehe. Well, I think if you have a lot of small issues in quick succession, it might be worth grouping them in to a single bug report, especially if they're easily reproducable. But you should still make a bug report - a list of forum posts, as has been said, quickly becomes very difficult to track. How do I quickly list all the remaining open bugs assigned to me? I can't, I'd have to trawl through forum posts. We also require .caps for good reason: in the past we had a tonne of bugs that were never fixed because we did exactly what was described, and didn't see anything wrong. The majority of cases, there is something subtley different in the .cap that is the real problem - not what the submitter saw and assumed. These things may be time consuming but they really are necessary, otherwise a lot of bugs would just be closed as 'can't reproduce' which is a waste of time for everybody.
Scirra Founder
B
359
S
214
G
72
Posts: 22,952
Reputation: 178,580

Post » Mon Mar 29, 2010 11:14 am

Okay, that makes sense. I'll just group everything together then.

A question though, do you want bug submissions regarding responsiveness and bugs/glitches in the editor interface itself, rather than bugs causing errors in the gameplay environment?
B
2
S
1
G
3
Posts: 71
Reputation: 1,142

Post » Mon Mar 29, 2010 12:02 pm

Of course!
Scirra Founder
B
359
S
214
G
72
Posts: 22,952
Reputation: 178,580

Post » Tue Mar 30, 2010 1:39 pm

[quote="Mr Wolf":2ctzlea1][quote="Ashley":2ctzlea1]You have to register a Sourceforge account to post bug reports.[/quote:2ctzlea1]
I did. Sourceforge signs me out immediately when I press Submit. Therefore, I will never be able to post bug reports myself.[/quote:2ctzlea1]

You could perhaps try to make another account? With another browser? See if that works?
Or try it with "open id" or other ways to log into sourceforge?
B
16
S
5
G
7
Posts: 599
Reputation: 5,000

Previous

Return to Construct Classic Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests