Easy Module #1 - Dialog module (Templates)

Discuss Scirra's 2D Asset Store

Post » Sat Oct 31, 2015 4:36 am

The first problem is Perfectly solved with the way you've shown!! Thanks!
But the second one, is still in mystery... seems var's name doesn't matter here. I got to test this in other project or something to find it out.
Thanks a lot for the precise answers! :D
B
13
S
2
Posts: 31
Reputation: 862

Post » Sat Nov 07, 2015 5:36 pm

Hi Jomo,

I'm using your CutScene Example and am very happy with it but would like to add a "Skip Dialog" button. The current dialog I have takes the player to the next level when the dialog completes. With the "Skip Dialog" button I'd like the player to go immediately to the next level when it is clicked. Of course I could just add my own button in but I'd like to use the existing button creation and tween effect like the "Restart" button does in the sample cutscene. So I was wondering if there was a simple way to add this in to the e_CutScene_example.

Thanks,
Tommy
B
9
S
3
Posts: 15
Reputation: 705

Post » Thu Nov 26, 2015 3:50 am

MathNook wrote:Hi Jomo,

I'm using your CutScene Example and am very happy with it but would like to add a "Skip Dialog" button. The current dialog I have takes the player to the next level when the dialog completes. With the "Skip Dialog" button I'd like the player to go immediately to the next level when it is clicked. Of course I could just add my own button in but I'd like to use the existing button creation and tween effect like the "Restart" button does in the sample cutscene. So I was wondering if there was a simple way to add this in to the e_CutScene_example.

Thanks,
Tommy


@MathNook
Ooops! I'm sorry the Forum didn't notice me of your reply. Please @ me explicitly next time, so that I can be noticed by forum alerts.

1. About "Skip button": In my thoughts, this kind of button should be created when cutscene starts and be destroyed when cutscene ends. Please see my example codes in below :
Image

2. About fading-out effect of a button: You can see how I did it for my <Restart> button in below:
Image
B
67
S
13
G
4
Posts: 187
Reputation: 7,120

Post » Sun Nov 29, 2015 4:43 pm

Jomo,

Thanks for the help! I gave the Dialog module a high rating the other day as it is a great tool. Once I complete the game I'm using the dialog in and put it on my site, mathnook.com, I'll post a link.

Thanks again,
Tommy
B
9
S
3
Posts: 15
Reputation: 705

Post » Sun Nov 29, 2015 6:06 pm

MathNook wrote:Jomo,

Thanks for the help! I gave the Dialog module a high rating the other day as it is a great tool. Once I complete the game I'm using the dialog in and put it on my site, mathnook.com, I'll post a link.

Thanks again,
Tommy


Your site is amazing~ There are so many math games! I'm happy my work can be a help for your great site ;) .
B
67
S
13
G
4
Posts: 187
Reputation: 7,120

Post » Fri Jan 01, 2016 2:21 pm

Thanks, glad you like my site. Mostly Flash games now but slowly getting some HTML5 games going.
B
9
S
3
Posts: 15
Reputation: 705

Post » Mon Jan 11, 2016 11:17 am

@Jomo

I just bought your module so I have the most up-to-date version as of this morning.

I'm supposed to learn this module as a task set by a company I am working for. I must admit that I am a bit confused as to how exactly it works. Please forgive the fact that I will be starting with very basic questions. I want to do this slow and steady to make sure I get it along the way.

Early in this thread, you mentioned that the work flow is:
1. Create a prototype dialog box.
2. Replace things on it.


Looking at the capx file, I see the main layout uses the e_main event sheet. The e_main event sheet includes the e_eModule_dialog_template event sheet. It then splits up each type of available preset into their own separate examples.

Running the main layout, I found that you are using assets form the eModule_dialog_template layout for the dialogues to appear. However, I don't see the actual connection! To test this out, I created my own layout and event sheet (both named "newb" accordingly). The newb event sheet includes the e_eModule_dialog_template event sheet, and the newb layout only contains one instance of btn_brown. I then copy and pasted the "Example#1 - Prototype" section from the e_main event sheet into the newb event sheet. You could probably guess that this attempt at creating a prototype dialog box by copy and pasting was not fruitful. When I ran the layout, clicking on the button did nothing.

What am I missing here? How is the main layout showing the assets from the other layout, but I don't see any instances of those assets actually on the main layout in Construct 2? Most importantly: What is my starting step at learning how to use your module?

It looks like it has a lot of potential, and other more savvy users have figured it out. I for one am at a loss, however.
B
6
S
1
Posts: 31
Reputation: 703

Post » Mon Jan 11, 2016 11:31 am

DoobieDoctor5000 wrote:@Jomo

I just bought your module so I have the most up-to-date version as of this morning.

I'm supposed to learn this module as a task set by a company I am working for. I must admit that I am a bit confused as to how exactly it works. Please forgive the fact that I will be starting with very basic questions. I want to do this slow and steady to make sure I get it along the way.

Early in this thread, you mentioned that the work flow is:
1. Create a prototype dialog box.
2. Replace things on it.


Looking at the capx file, I see the main layout uses the e_main event sheet. The e_main event sheet includes the e_eModule_dialog_template event sheet. It then splits up each type of available preset into their own separate examples.

Running the main layout, I found that you are using assets form the eModule_dialog_template layout for the dialogues to appear. However, I don't see the actual connection! To test this out, I created my own layout and event sheet (both named "newb" accordingly). The newb event sheet includes the e_eModule_dialog_template event sheet, and the newb layout only contains one instance of btn_brown. I then copy and pasted the "Example#1 - Prototype" section from the e_main event sheet into the newb event sheet. You could probably guess that this attempt at creating a prototype dialog box by copy and pasting was not fruitful. When I ran the layout, clicking on the button did nothing.

What am I missing here? How is the main layout showing the assets from the other layout, but I don't see any instances of those assets actually on the main layout in Construct 2? Most importantly: What is my starting step at learning how to use your module?

It looks like it has a lot of potential, and other more savvy users have figured it out. I for one am at a loss, however.


@DoobieDoctor5000

Hi~ Did you remember to include the <e_eModule_dialog_template> event sheet?
Instance can be created by <System>-<Create object > action even if the specified object class in not appeared in current layout.
Have you finished the installation guide successfully?
Of course, you can send my your newb project and I can check for you: [email protected]
B
67
S
13
G
4
Posts: 187
Reputation: 7,120

Post » Mon Jan 11, 2016 11:47 am

@DoobieDoctor5000

Ok, let me have a guess. The reference code detects whether user is pressing [btn_brown] AND if the pressed button has its id set to 0. Please help to check the button you've copied has a id set to 0.
Image
B
67
S
13
G
4
Posts: 187
Reputation: 7,120

Post » Tue Jan 12, 2016 5:40 am

I just want to let everyone know that I e-mailed Jomo and he replied in record time with a solution to my confusion. A+ customer service for a dev! Thank you Jomo!
B
6
S
1
Posts: 31
Reputation: 703

PreviousNext

Return to Scirra Store

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests