Editing Node-Webkit Resources

Get help using Construct 2

Post » Sun Jul 07, 2013 8:08 pm

Hi Everyone, I exported my game as node-webkit. Then I got 4 folders, linux32/64,osx, and win32. When I opened the osx folder -->game.app-->contents-->resources-->app.nw, I could find the resources of my game. The problem is that I cannot find for the win32 and linux32/64 though I believe they are in nw.pak file. I have tried to extract this file but failed.

Can anyone help me please? Is it possible to extract the resources from nodewebkit for win32? Can we then change them by putting new resources to the corresponding folders?

Thanks
B
62
S
15
G
6
Posts: 103
Reputation: 8,349

Post » Sun Jul 07, 2013 8:23 pm

Why would you want to change assets after export rather than before?
I mean doesn't it make more sense to keep that stuff as far away from prying eyes as possible?
Image ImageImage
B
172
S
50
G
184
Posts: 8,445
Reputation: 116,109

Post » Sun Jul 07, 2013 8:31 pm

@newt, I want the user to be able to edit the sprites and text of the game as they like it. So I have a friend, a teacher, and he wants to use game in teaching. By making the assets editable, I dont need to edit and export the game myself everytime he wants to change the dialogue for example. That's the case. Thanks
B
62
S
15
G
6
Posts: 103
Reputation: 8,349

Post » Sun Jul 07, 2013 8:42 pm

There are actions to load from an external source.
In fact nodewebkit has special actions for using local sources.newt2013-07-07 21:15:54
Image ImageImage
B
172
S
50
G
184
Posts: 8,445
Reputation: 116,109

Post » Sun Jul 07, 2013 8:54 pm

But is it editable after we export as nodewebkit? I mean will the local sources be visible in the folder? or should I use the actions in the game and export it as nodewebkit then I add the editable sources to the exported folder? Thanks
B
62
S
15
G
6
Posts: 103
Reputation: 8,349

Post » Sun Jul 07, 2013 9:14 pm

There are several ways to go about it, but yes.
Here is an example :https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/666516/nwfi.capx
Image ImageImage
B
172
S
50
G
184
Posts: 8,445
Reputation: 116,109

Post » Mon Jul 08, 2013 2:48 am

Wow, thanks @newt. I found this very useful for me. May I ask you again if I face a new problem? Thanks
B
62
S
15
G
6
Posts: 103
Reputation: 8,349

Post » Mon Jul 08, 2013 2:51 am

Sure, but the forum is always the best bet.
Image ImageImage
B
172
S
50
G
184
Posts: 8,445
Reputation: 116,109

Post » Mon Jul 08, 2013 2:12 pm

@newt, I used the same method you use in the capx you gave to call for txt file, but nothing showed up. Is the method different? thanks
B
62
S
15
G
6
Posts: 103
Reputation: 8,349

Post » Mon Jul 08, 2013 3:59 pm

Yeah, you'll have to import it differently, as well as parse it, and write it to a text object.
Image ImageImage
B
172
S
50
G
184
Posts: 8,445
Reputation: 116,109

Next

Return to How do I....?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Lancifer, OddConfection and 25 guests