[Effect] 2.5D Platformer

Share your Construct 2 effect files

Post » Sat Jul 16, 2016 6:39 am

Gigatron wrote:
irbis wrote:@Gigatron There is a very, very, VERY nasty bug in the plugin. If the cube texture is too dark/black - the canvas goes apeshit and plugin gets messed up. But its not visible in preview. You have to export the project to NodeKit. Even previewing in NodeKit will not uncover the bug, you have to export. Its present in both 32 and 64bit windows export.
Screenshot:
Image
Heres the cap. Export it to Nw.js on your own.
https://www.sendspace.com/file/eg788j

Also, not to brag but...

I am in the middle of a very big project. And today, instead of adding new things to my game and expanding the game in general, I've spent EIGHT hours, full of frustration trial-and-error debugging, and over 70 NodeKit exports, trying to inspect this bug and find the source of it. So, yeah. Please appreciate my dedication.


Try to set Light Depth To 0;
It's working for me i see 4 black cube...

Actually, my mistake. It was something else. The sprite with the effect had 4 frames of animation (not really playing but still) and the plugin tries to display all 4 frame at once (for w/e reason). It doesn't matter if the frames are in one animation or in many - you can only use one frame or it breaks.
B
29
S
8
G
7
Posts: 643
Reputation: 6,482

Post » Mon Oct 17, 2016 10:06 am

Thank you. It's a very useful plugin as I see by examples. It's just what I was looking for.
I'm a Magician, not a Developer.
B
23
S
8
G
25
Posts: 106
Reputation: 14,344

Post » Mon Oct 17, 2016 4:59 pm

Or not. Actually stretching picture is nicer. Would be even better if I had something like 3D box plugin from CClassic.
Tried to achieve something good out of Q3D, but it takes whole game to be made on it and combining it's not an option.
There is still some use to this 2.5 effect, but it comes with a good deal of fps which for my project is always a tightrope. Should keep a close eye on it to don't make every-player's-horror.

Well maybe 3D elements or pseudo-3D elements is not a great thing to lose. As I'm pretty sure I would use UE4 if I wanted beutiful 3D game with as many polygons as my grandma's calculator can carry.

Pure 2D!
I'm a Magician, not a Developer.
B
23
S
8
G
25
Posts: 106
Reputation: 14,344

Post » Mon Oct 17, 2016 8:06 pm

XpMonster wrote:Or not. Actually stretching picture is nicer. Would be even better if I had something like 3D box plugin from CClassic.
Tried to achieve something good out of Q3D, but it takes whole game to be made on it and combining it's not an option.
There is still some use to this 2.5 effect, but it comes with a good deal of fps which for my project is always a tightrope. Should keep a close eye on it to don't make every-player's-horror.

Well maybe 3D elements or pseudo-3D elements is not a great thing to lose. As I'm pretty sure I would use UE4 if I wanted beutiful 3D game with as many polygons as my grandma's calculator can carry.

Pure 2D!

This fx is just for visual not 3d or 2.5d... read this topic at start to end... test it ;
B
69
S
24
G
29
Posts: 829
Reputation: 22,751

Post » Tue Oct 18, 2016 10:11 am

For visual then I searched, but this fx ain't working for me.
I'm a Magician, not a Developer.
B
23
S
8
G
25
Posts: 106
Reputation: 14,344

Post » Fri Nov 04, 2016 6:57 pm

Damn!, i was trying to do a prototype for my next game with this thing of 2.5d using sprites and events and here is an effect that do that XD.

I think this thing can have a lots of possibilities and with a good doc and do more simply can be great.

But i found a bug, the rooftop not works, the entire building is made using the "wall" sprite In Nw.Js and Opera/Firefox/Chrome. I download from this: http://gigatron3k.free.fr/html5/C2/25dc ... city2.capx or there is a new version? Or maybe the .FX in the first post is not updated to last version ¿? .
B
27
S
10
G
3
Posts: 596
Reputation: 4,644

Post » Fri Nov 04, 2016 7:23 pm

matriax wrote:But i found a bug, the rooftop not works, the entire building is made using the "wall" sprite In Nw.Js and Opera/Firefox/Chrome. I download from this: http://gigatron3k.free.fr/html5/C2/25dc ... city2.capx or there is a new version? Or maybe the .FX in the first post is not updated to last version ¿? .


This not a bug ... like you said this fx have fantastic posibilities... for rooftop you must set sprite under the building.. in other word
you must assemble building+rooftop with the correct parameters..; If you understand the principle you can do nice pseudo 3d visual fx game. Every thing is done by params or where is the sprite on Screen position.. We can rotate roll or turn sprite depending the position of this on Layout.. or Camere... look at the buildings eventsheet and math formula...
Persons are looking for plugin to do pseudo 3d game .... but this fx is for that.
B
69
S
24
G
29
Posts: 829
Reputation: 22,751

Post » Fri Nov 04, 2016 8:01 pm

I see, then for build larger maps can be a pain :(

There is no way to do all with one sprite? Set the faces of the cube in the Frame0=Rooftop, Frame1=Left, etc... Or better using animations names "Rooftop" , "Side1" etc... and inside the frame for that.

So, we simply create and place in the layout one sprite, set the texture faces inside and done. So we can do tilesets and create maps very fast and complex.

Is possible?
B
27
S
10
G
3
Posts: 596
Reputation: 4,644

Post » Fri Nov 04, 2016 8:19 pm

@matriax
please read this entire post.. i am sure you can do what you want...
for cube combination http://gigatron3k.free.fr/html5/C2/3d8/
or game source for camera position
https://www.scirra.com/arcade/action-games/25dgame-5773
B
69
S
24
G
29
Posts: 829
Reputation: 22,751

Post » Fri Nov 04, 2016 8:24 pm

Gigatron wrote:@matriax
please read this entire post.. i am sure you can do what you want...
for cube combination http://gigatron3k.free.fr/html5/C2/3d8/
or game source for camera position
https://www.scirra.com/arcade/action-games/25dgame-5773


I downloaded the .capx but when i try to open that cubeface example says that i need this plugin "FPS Monitor" by Gigatorn, but i searched on scirra and i can't find it :( . Can you post the cubeface example without that plugin?
B
27
S
10
G
3
Posts: 596
Reputation: 4,644

PreviousNext

Return to Effects

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests