[Effect] mode7

Share your Construct 2 effect files

Post » Wed Oct 29, 2014 5:21 pm

Just used this effet for a menu background , this is fantastic!

It would be very nice to have it bundled with C2, maybe with an autoscroll value for X et Y position for beginners.

Thanks A LOT for this one, superb job! : )

--------------

EDIT:

So... I tried something stupid, just for the fun of it, and applied this mode7 effect on the whole layout.
I was expecting something flat, weird, and very wrong.

Annnd, oh snap, I'm amazed how dynamic, fast and "3D" the game feels this way!! It makes no sense, but I'll try to record a video tomorrow so you can see this. It's like the top down view was waiting for this silly test!

That said, even after 2 hours spent on the mode7 fx settings, here is the best I'm getting: a lot of space is wasted, the display is horizontaly flipped and the effect is too strong. @R0J0hound, do you think I could get closer from the 2nd picture bellow with some adjustements (in settings or directly in the shader code)?

Thanks again for this great, great fx : )))

Image
Last edited by Aurel on Thu Oct 30, 2014 2:57 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Image | @AurelRegard on twitter
B
19
S
6
G
1
Posts: 307
Reputation: 2,495

Post » Thu Oct 30, 2014 3:03 pm

Alright, pretty close now!
All is centered, and give a very nice perspective effect, I'm super happy with this : )
Here's a video if you want to have a look at it:

VIDEO > https://www.dropbox.com/s/jd0l58t5rzyh9 ... 7.mp4?dl=0

Image

@R0J0hound , would you have the time to tell me how to invert the X display? This is the last problem I have, and I got no luck while randomly editing the shader.
Image | @AurelRegard on twitter
B
19
S
6
G
1
Posts: 307
Reputation: 2,495

Post » Thu Oct 30, 2014 3:17 pm


Wow that is soooo cool.

Now I feel a sudden urge to make a pokemon-like game with mode7, with moving pokemon around the battlefield.

*mission mid 2015* :D
B
27
S
8
G
4
Posts: 553
Reputation: 4,839

Post » Thu Oct 30, 2014 3:26 pm

@Aurel that looks pretty sweet. :D
ImageImageImageImage
B
50
S
18
G
51
Posts: 633
Reputation: 30,021

Post » Thu Oct 30, 2014 3:50 pm

Aaaaaaand SUCCESS!

My wife told me to edit this line, cause "eeeer, maybe this?" and it worked!

vec4 color = texture2D(samplerFront, vec2(mod(xx * -scale_x, 1.0), mod(yy * scale_y, 1.0)));
_______________________________________________________^

Thanks for your messages, I'll post a legit video once the frame/borders and all will be clean : ))
Last edited by Aurel on Thu Oct 30, 2014 5:22 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Image | @AurelRegard on twitter
B
19
S
6
G
1
Posts: 307
Reputation: 2,495

Post » Thu Oct 30, 2014 3:53 pm

Would you be willing to perhaps create a tutorial/guide or explain your process of going through Mode 7? :]
ImageImageImageImage
B
50
S
18
G
51
Posts: 633
Reputation: 30,021

Post » Thu Oct 30, 2014 5:01 pm

Well, that's simple (and ugly), this is just the mode7 effect applied on the full layout.
I don't handle a real mode7 or anything. It had all the chances to look wrong and flat, but the result is pretty cool anyway.
Keep in mind it will only work on a game with a top view. If you want to make a real mode7 game, this is not the right way to do so.

Finding the right settings was very long, but no need for tutorial, just fill the settings this way for a 1280x720 layout:

Image

Hope it can be useful to some : )
Image | @AurelRegard on twitter
B
19
S
6
G
1
Posts: 307
Reputation: 2,495

Post » Thu Oct 30, 2014 5:46 pm

@Aurel
Just saw this, glad you got it sorted.
B
79
S
24
G
52
Posts: 4,725
Reputation: 39,713

Post » Thu Oct 30, 2014 6:13 pm

@R0J0hound, thanks!

And it looks really nice, thanks to you : )

Now, I'm trying to apply this shader on the ships and track layers only, leaving the HUD untouched.
It works, but I've lost the alpha channel +additive blending on the sprites featured in these layers. Does that sound familiar to someone?

I remember how changing the effects order when implementing the motionblur fixed that, but it doesn't seem to do the trick this time.

Image
Image | @AurelRegard on twitter
B
19
S
6
G
1
Posts: 307
Reputation: 2,495

Post » Thu Oct 30, 2014 9:19 pm

@R0J0hound I made a rough video to show you how much your effect add to the game : )

I'm still investigating on this transparencies and blending issues. For the video bellow, I tried to disabled ALL effects but mode 7.
Could that be possible that the shader doesn't support transparencies or am I doing something wrong?
I tried to force "own texture on/off" on every layers, tried with only one layer instead of two, nothing.
If you think about something, that would be very helpful, this is the last issue I get before being able to send the press build on monday : )

VIDEO > https://www.dropbox.com/s/ylp0ktu2nzabu ... s.mp4?dl=0

Image
Image | @AurelRegard on twitter
B
19
S
6
G
1
Posts: 307
Reputation: 2,495

PreviousNext

Return to Effects

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests