[Effect] Outline

Share your Construct 2 effect files

Post » Mon Nov 05, 2012 3:44 am

Here is an effect that puts a colored outline around a sprite. I does it by offsetting silhouettes of the sprite in eight directions so it can look a bit weird with large line widths.

http://dl.dropbox.com/u/5426011/plugins/outline.zip
Feel free to modify.
B
79
S
24
G
54
Posts: 4,746
Reputation: 40,755

Post » Mon Nov 05, 2012 3:47 am

mm Thanks R0j0hound ..it all helps...will have a look later
sounds good though...
When in doubt..or you are lost in a Zombie apocalypse or someone is giving you a hard time..Remember one thing..... Read the Construct 2 Manual..it will save your life.:)
B
30
S
11
G
8
Posts: 313
Reputation: 7,360

Post » Mon Nov 05, 2012 11:20 am

Man... You are a champ!
Since it works as you said (offset silhouettes), will it work with transparent objects?
B
90
S
30
G
24
Posts: 3,189
Reputation: 32,400

Post » Mon Nov 05, 2012 8:07 pm

Hmm, this seems broken to me. I can't get it to work at all...
B
90
S
30
G
24
Posts: 3,189
Reputation: 32,400

Post » Fri Nov 09, 2012 10:03 pm

Could you tell me how to use this effect...How do I import in CC2..
So sorry but I am new in Construct
B
11
S
2
Posts: 73
Reputation: 1,438

Post » Fri Nov 09, 2012 11:15 pm

Excellent in principle but I can't seem to get it to work either
B
39
S
12
G
8
Posts: 580
Reputation: 7,108

Post » Sat Nov 10, 2012 1:13 am

It's working for me on two different computers, Firefox and Chrome.
What is it that isn't working? Does the sprite draw with no outline or does the game not load?

Does the sprite you apply it to have any transparency? The outline is applied between transparent and opaque pixels, but it doesn't draw beyond the sprites quad so a solid color sprite will have no visible outline. R0J0hound2012-11-10 01:13:42
B
79
S
24
G
54
Posts: 4,746
Reputation: 40,755

Post » Sat Nov 10, 2012 1:45 am

Oh, it doesn't apply beyond the object's quad. I think that's why it didn't work for me.

Is there any chance that this could work applied to a layer (i.e. all objects in the layer get the outline)? When I try it, it just outlines the whole layer.
B
90
S
30
G
24
Posts: 3,189
Reputation: 32,400

Post » Sat Nov 10, 2012 1:52 am

It won't work on the base layer since it doesn't have any transparency, but if you add another layer it should work.
B
79
S
24
G
54
Posts: 4,746
Reputation: 40,755

Post » Sat Nov 10, 2012 2:03 am

Ah, OK. It seems jolly good then!

Is there any way to fix it so the outline doesn't scale with the layer scale?
B
90
S
30
G
24
Posts: 3,189
Reputation: 32,400

Next

Return to Effects

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests