[Effect] Outline

Share your Construct 2 effect files

Post » Sat Nov 10, 2012 2:16 am

Another thing: If the outline is applied to a layer, changing the outline color will change the color of everything else in the layout.

Take a look at the example, the background is actually blue.

https://dl.dropbox.com/u/41931267/Outline.capx
B
90
S
30
G
24
Posts: 3,189
Reputation: 32,400

Post » Mon Nov 12, 2012 12:34 am

Ok, I fixed that bug and tweaked it a bit. Re-download from first post.
B
79
S
24
G
52
Posts: 4,725
Reputation: 39,713

Post » Mon Nov 12, 2012 2:59 am

Ok, that almost did the trick. I'm still getting some color changing effects on the same layer it's applied to, but I'm using masking and transparency and other shenanigans. I'll see if I can whip up an example tomorrow.
B
90
S
30
G
24
Posts: 3,189
Reputation: 32,400

Post » Sat Feb 02, 2013 5:32 pm

@R0J0hound

Hey that's a neat effect!
How about a new parameter where you can define the number of directions you need as offsets (to make it smoother with large widths)?
Also would it be possible to have an outline "glow" as well with the same technique(like the outer glow in photoshop)?
B
20
S
5
G
8
Posts: 325
Reputation: 6,473

Post » Sat Feb 16, 2013 2:26 pm

thanks!
B
9
S
1
G
1
Posts: 12
Reputation: 1,056

Post » Mon Feb 18, 2013 9:20 am

@R0J0hound

just a little question: why did you set extend-box parameters in the xml to zero? i'd expect a bit more for standard outlines like up to 8 to 16 perhaps.

On the other hand one can extend the transparent area around a sprite to the specified outline width. I thought it'll be a useful hint for some people
B
59
S
7
G
2
Posts: 93
Reputation: 4,228

Post » Mon Feb 18, 2013 6:19 pm

@oppenheimer
With extend-box I was getting artifacts in the extended area with overlapping sprites.
B
79
S
24
G
52
Posts: 4,725
Reputation: 39,713

Post » Mon Feb 18, 2013 6:32 pm

@R0J0hound
Interesting! I encountered artifacts as i tried to build a cartesian to polar mapper, which tries to sample some points out of the box area at times. Maybe it has something to do with the extended box... dunno.

Btw. a first experiment showed, that your outline shader with outline only set to 1 works pretty good as a photoshop style "glow". Just in case somebody likes to try ;)
B
59
S
7
G
2
Posts: 93
Reputation: 4,228

Post » Thu Mar 21, 2013 2:38 pm

Why this effect suddenly broken in my Chrome..
I am using Google Chrome Version 25.0.1364.172
B
11
S
2
Posts: 73
Reputation: 1,438

Post » Tue Feb 25, 2014 3:43 am

@R0J0hound
There is an issue, but not sure if it's with your fx or Node-Webkit, so I thought I ask You first.
This is how it looks in Node-Webkit preview:
Image

and here's how it looks after exporting to Node-Webkit:
Image

Outline width is set to 0.2.

Edit: Actually it's same with normal html5: Fine in preview, different after export.
B
140
S
58
G
36
Posts: 2,547
Reputation: 31,170

PreviousNext

Return to Effects

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests