Effect Request: Blur that doesn't cost arm/leg

New releases and general discussions.

Post » Wed Mar 17, 2010 4:10 am

Thanks for trying though. I kept the regular blur but I'm using the particles a little differently so they use a LOT less particles and don't have a huge X randomizer (apparently X randomizer is really slow). Have to sacrifice somewhere right? The new way of doing the particles looks even better actually :lol:

I just hope I don't end up in a situation where there's no alternative whatsoever... :?
B
2
S
2
G
2
Posts: 372
Reputation: 1,794

Post » Wed Mar 17, 2010 4:53 am

Come to think of it, couldn't you also make a sprite of the particle and blur it yourself, and then use that as the particle? As long as you use alpha with it, it should blend well enough without any shaders.
B
2
S
2
G
4
Posts: 156
Reputation: 1,762

Post » Wed Mar 17, 2010 8:44 am

Yeah, use blur shaders only if you need to turn blur on and off at runtime. If your particles are always going to be blurred, just pre-blur them in Photoshop or something.
Moderator
B
5
S
2
G
6
Posts: 4,348
Reputation: 10,971

Previous

Return to Construct Classic Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest