[Effect] Shader Effect & Editor released. Create your shader

Share your Construct 2 effect files

Post » Sat Jul 18, 2015 9:04 pm

Instagram video showing multiple effects you can do with this shader:
https://instagram.com/p/5Sqh-wgL5Z/

What you think?

Triying to discover how remove the black background without use Additive blend and triying to discover/test/ some features that push this shader to a next level.

In some way is fun/addictive trying to test variables to see what effect they do and implement to a variable for C2. Learning a lot developing this shader :D .
B
26
S
10
G
3
Posts: 584
Reputation: 4,595

Post » Sun Jul 19, 2015 12:38 pm

This is awesome! But how will this work within construct 2??? Sorry if this is a dumb question!
composer - multimedia artist
www.eli0s.com/en/
B
69
S
27
G
6
Posts: 1,146
Reputation: 10,379

Post » Sun Jul 19, 2015 1:30 pm

@eli0s Is a shader with their parameters like any other. On a Sprite you add the effect "MyShader" and you have various parameters to edit. This is exacly the same.

In this case, after see how customizable is i made a personal editor to play with their values in real time. So if you find some cool you will do "Get code" and this will give you something like this:

4|2|3|1.25|0.25|1.5|0.75|1.2|1.2|-1.2|1.6|0.25|1.25|16|0.5|0.5|1.5|1.5|1|1|3|6|1.5|4|0 (This is the Torch Fire shader code)

This numbers are the parameters of the Shader effect in order, from the Parameter 0 to the last one with a "|" separator. So you can simply pass this numbers 1by1 to the efect parameters of the sprite to get the effect you found in the editor or you can create a "For each" event that pass this variables automatically for you at the start of layout ;) .

And more!! Also i created a "shared code link" so if you found something cool you can paste the link here and when we press we go to a page with the editor loading your shader code automatically, and with that the people can share his creations in the forums and if somebody like one use it in their game! :D .

-

New feature added this morning:
- Undo/Redo Buttons

Because i hate let pressed the Randomize button and pass an effect that was good XD.
B
26
S
10
G
3
Posts: 584
Reputation: 4,595

Post » Sun Jul 19, 2015 8:35 pm

what happens if you add another variable down the road? You wouldn't be able to load previous codes. Perhaps you should add tags to each value so it doesn't matter if you add variables in the future.
B
47
S
22
G
65
Posts: 1,129
Reputation: 38,399

Post » Sun Jul 19, 2015 8:58 pm

@Prominent While all the new variables added by default have the 0 as number no problem, I can add in any moment and when i want any new variable to improve the editor because the shader in case of no have any value for the new parameters will set 0 as default, so no problem ;) .

I mean if the code for shader is:
4|2|3|1.25|0.25|1.5|0.75|1.2|1.2|-1.2|1.6|

If i add 5 new variables the shader will do this:
4|2|3|1.25|0.25|1.5|0.75|1.2|1.2|-1.2|1.6|0|0|0|0|0

So, i always will can add new variables while their default number is 0 because is the numer that a shader get in case of no have this parameter.

I don't know if that is what you asked(Sorry my english sucks).
B
26
S
10
G
3
Posts: 584
Reputation: 4,595

Post » Sun Jul 19, 2015 9:10 pm

oh okay, yea I guess that makes sense if you just add to the end- kind of makes it difficult to cycle through them though if you need to reference the value in construct2, because then you need to know which number relates to which variable ahead of time. Or maybe not.. I haven't checked how you modify effect values in construct.
B
47
S
22
G
65
Posts: 1,129
Reputation: 38,399

Post » Sun Jul 19, 2015 9:29 pm

@Prominent Obviously if i change the order of the variables then not will works :P . The variables of the parameters are in the .xml that are passed to construct2 in the same order. So when i add new variables they go to the last place.

Like in all the .fx on construct2 to modify any variable you have to know what parameter number is each one. But no problem, simply like add a number before each "Variable Name" and ready like:

0) Total Noise
1) Fire Speed
..
14) Fire Quantity
Etc...

With that you know what parameter have to modify in reference to the shader variable.
B
26
S
10
G
3
Posts: 584
Reputation: 4,595

Post » Sun Jul 19, 2015 11:14 pm

@matriax , I see! This is awesome, great job!! :)
composer - multimedia artist
www.eli0s.com/en/
B
69
S
27
G
6
Posts: 1,146
Reputation: 10,379

Post » Tue Jul 21, 2015 3:59 pm

Every time more and more things to do/create :P
Image

Today i added a Fade-In/Fade-Out option. 0= disabled and if you add speed this will Appear/Disappear with the speed you want.

Now i'm with the Sinewave/Warp effect that is actually working so after some adjust and if all is correct tonight i will pass the variables to C2.
B
26
S
10
G
3
Posts: 584
Reputation: 4,595

Post » Wed Jul 22, 2015 8:19 pm

Warp effect added. Now You can do better fluids and twisters! :O
https://instagram.com/p/5c42PSALzg/

With the warp effect variables for X/Y the magma/lava looks more live.

Also thanks to the Warp effect now you can do twisters! :D

Edit: Also added a OffsetX and FadeX to get more control about the shader.
B
26
S
10
G
3
Posts: 584
Reputation: 4,595

PreviousNext

Return to Effects

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests