[Effect] Shader Effect & Editor released. Create your shader

Share your Construct 2 effect files

Post » Mon Jul 27, 2015 8:49 am

Lof wrote:On some cases its faster, but if you want to set it back to zero or hit a specific value it's a little tricky.


I see, you have the undo/redo in case you change some value and you want to go back to 0.

BTW, i will try to add the option of change values from the text boxes. Actually is a little tricky so will see ;) .
B
25
S
10
G
3
Posts: 577
Reputation: 4,556

Post » Mon Jul 27, 2015 9:28 pm

@matriax You're one of the coolest person on this forum :) Thanks a lot!
Image
B
71
S
34
G
39
Posts: 432
Reputation: 24,993

Post » Tue Jul 28, 2015 8:56 am

Thanks! :P

---

Shader Effect Released:

And here is the shader effect including a .capx example with all the presets workings and the editor exported in html5 to be used offline(is the same that the online one i posted above)

https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/659 ... editor.rar

Inside the .capx you will find some comments that how all works.

Enjoy!
B
25
S
10
G
3
Posts: 577
Reputation: 4,556

Post » Tue Jul 28, 2015 4:34 pm

Thanks for this...great work.
B
21
S
6
G
8
Posts: 1,215
Reputation: 7,885

Post » Tue Jul 28, 2015 5:39 pm

thank you matriax and congratulation for your work ;
B
66
S
24
G
29
Posts: 823
Reputation: 22,644

Post » Sun Aug 02, 2015 7:15 pm

Very cool, and thanks for sharing!

I'm having an issue under Windows 10 where only half of a shader is rendering if parameters are changed in any way - see attached screenshot. This happens across all browsers and NW.js.

I've updated to the newest nVidia Windows 10 drivers, but still no change.

Image
B
84
S
46
G
25
Posts: 528
Reputation: 21,566

Post » Sun Aug 02, 2015 7:25 pm

@digitalsoapbox

I get the same thing but I'm on Win 7. I also have Nvidia card - GTX 970. What's your card?
If your vision so exceeds your ability, then look to something closer.
Moderator
B
136
S
31
G
86
Posts: 5,482
Reputation: 59,750

Post » Sun Aug 02, 2015 7:51 pm

I think is a similar error that on my other shader of flames that was solved by @gigatron :
effect-fire-flames_p951001?#p951001

Seems i can't use the X variable of the shader position, when i do some cards not do the work correctly and this happens. I guess is the same or similar error, i can't confirm.

I will try to solve the problem, sorry for the inconvenience :S .

Note: My card is a NVIDIA Geforce GTX 670 , and works perfect :S

Edit:

I guess the problem is in this two lines that modify the coordinate X and make in some card you only see a half:
Code: Select all
q.x *= 1.0; // Number of flames on horizontal
q.x = mod(q.x,1.0)-0.5; // 1=Separation / 2- Move to right


But after try some things i can't it working the same using other format or mixing, or deleting and creating some different :( , if i modify i get the same error. Arggg @gigatron some help please? :?
Last edited by matriax on Sun Aug 02, 2015 8:01 pm, edited 1 time in total.
B
25
S
10
G
3
Posts: 577
Reputation: 4,556

Post » Sun Aug 02, 2015 8:01 pm

matriax wrote:I think is a similar error that on my other shader of flames that was solved by @gigatron :
effect-fire-flames_p951001?#p951001

Seems i can't use the X variable of the shader position, when i do some cards not do the work correctly and this happens. I guess is the same or similar error, i can't confirm.

I will try to solve the problem, sorry for the inconvenience :S .

Note: My card is a NVIDIA Geforce GTX 670 , and works perfect :S


I'll check that solution out, thanks!

I'm running on a GTX 770, Windows 10 x64, if that helps at all.
B
84
S
46
G
25
Posts: 528
Reputation: 21,566

Post » Sun Aug 02, 2015 8:17 pm

The solution i mean is for fix the .fx not nothing you can do sorry :S .

I'm trying now but i can't get working at the moment, or is something i'm missing or i still not have the enough skill to fix that.

@digitalsoapbox If you want to try look this two lines in the .fx file:
Code: Select all
q.x *= 1.0; // Number of flames on horizontal
q.x = mod(q.x,1.0)-0.5; // 1=Separation / 2- Move to right


Remember that for a shader the start position (top-left) is 0/0 and bottom-right is 1/1. For X (q.x) 0 is left, 1 is right and 0.5 is center. I think the problem is "q.x = mod(q.x,1.0)-0.5;" maybe the "mod" operation works different in some cards ¿?.

If you can play with the values of this line of code and see if ther is one that works for you. At least i will be sure that this are the problematic lines :P .
B
25
S
10
G
3
Posts: 577
Reputation: 4,556

PreviousNext

Return to Effects

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests