effects and zoom

For questions about using Classic.

Post » Sun Mar 11, 2012 2:44 am

is there any way to make effects, like overlay, not wig-out on camera zoom?


besides adding an arbitrary effect to each layer.
B
6
S
2
G
5
Posts: 249
Reputation: 2,323

Post » Sun Mar 11, 2012 4:45 am

I can't follow you. Could you post an example?

This is wat I tried, but it worked ok:

1) A colored layout
2) A tiled background object with smooth and hard transparency fades
3) A sprite with transparancies, the effect "overlay" applied, "center view on me" active, 8-direction behavior applied
4) Zoomed in to 150% on start of layout.

An example might help seeing the problem and finding a solution.
Image
B
23
S
8
G
10
Posts: 1,820
Reputation: 8,242

Post » Sun Mar 11, 2012 5:46 am

try moving an object under the overlay object, at a default zoom its all good, but anything else there's this weird distortion offset. its more apparent if you zoom in or out slowly.

if your still not seeing it let me know and I'll upload my .cap

most the effects have a subtle weird offset thing when you slowly zoom. but overlay with an object beneath is just trippyBartosh2012-03-11 05:49:24
B
6
S
2
G
5
Posts: 249
Reputation: 2,323

Post » Sun Mar 11, 2012 8:48 pm

here's my cap

http://www.mediafire.com/?dact9b1aklcpvy4

just walk towards the green light to see what I mean.


space to jump. wasd to move around, but always relative to the mouse. like Sony's infantry.

also some fun stuff with player camera zooming, sudo-3d effects, revised projectile physics, 3d slopes, and 3d aiming.

I'm a man of no secrets.
------------------------------
I played around with adding a offset effect to the overlay layer to try and counter the effect. but the offset changes relative to the zoom.

its a shame, overlay is such an awesome lighting effect. Bartosh2012-03-11 20:53:41
B
6
S
2
G
5
Posts: 249
Reputation: 2,323

Post » Mon Mar 12, 2012 11:21 am

I'm sorry, but I couldn't find any problem. No distortion or any other kind of weird behavior.

This should be tested by a lot of people, maybe it is related to some special hardware configuration or graphics driver issue?
Image
B
23
S
8
G
10
Posts: 1,820
Reputation: 8,242

Post » Mon Mar 12, 2012 2:39 pm

well that's nice to know its on my side(I guess).

I'm going to try and get updated gpu drivers and direct-X and see if that helps. maybe play around with my resolution.

------------------------------------
Win 7 (64 bit)

ATI Radeon HD 5700 Series

1680 x 1050 (32 bit) (60Hz)
------------------------------------
If you have similar specs test it out and let me know what you get.Bartosh2012-03-12 14:49:10
B
6
S
2
G
5
Posts: 249
Reputation: 2,323

Post » Tue Mar 13, 2012 12:02 pm

hi.

i tried that .cap and im not sure what im supposed to be looking at, but anyway, the green overlay light is not correctly placed at the same position as the other light when the overlay effect is on. with it off, its placed fine. also, im getting this weird green ghost effect when i move the player under the overlay light. and just one more thing, the muzzle flash isnt correctly placed for me, it spawns a good distance away from the tip of the gun..? anyway, wish i could help more, but aside from those, the .cap looks great actually. hope you get it resolved.

here's my specs btw,for what its worth:

Win 7 (64 bit)
ATI Radeon HD 6770
current desktop res. 1440 x 900 (75Hz)
B
4
S
2
G
2
Posts: 109
Reputation: 1,318

Post » Tue Mar 13, 2012 3:11 pm

hey thanks
-----------


this is what I'm getting, and assume clodius666 was getting too.

the muzzle flash is offset because it has an additive layer effect. any layer-effect has this weird offset with zoom, but overlay is very obvious.
--------------------------------------------------------------------
starting to wonder if it has something to do with Radeon cards.
what card do you have tulamide ?Bartosh2012-03-13 15:45:02
B
6
S
2
G
5
Posts: 249
Reputation: 2,323

Post » Tue Mar 13, 2012 7:28 pm

Let's hope a few more will test the cap and report here, because the image really looks extremely weird, as if an additional texture was created and shifted down-right. Strange.

My specs are:

WinXP (32bit)
NVIDIA 460 GTX Hawk (1GB)
Desktop 1920x1080 (32bit)
Image
B
23
S
8
G
10
Posts: 1,820
Reputation: 8,242

Post » Tue Mar 13, 2012 7:59 pm

yes, its exactly like what is shown in the screenshot for me. strange.
shame that i cant try it on my old ATI card, cant assemble the old parts again, i dont remember having this issue on my old computer, but thats more because i never really used the overlay effect

i may test this on my old laptop some time this week when i got the time. it really looks like a problem that would be great to get sorted somehow.
hope theres others who would like to test this.

as much as i like ATI cards, they can be annoying sometimes. i still havent found a way to get that glorious sikkmod for DOOM3 working properly clodius6662012-03-13 20:00:24
B
4
S
2
G
2
Posts: 109
Reputation: 1,318

Next

Return to Help & Support using Construct Classic

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests