Effects on Seperate Instances

Get help using Construct 2

Post » Fri Jun 21, 2013 7:28 pm

Hey hey,
I made a tree and I have placed a few copies of them around my platformer. I now want to use that same tree and add an effect to it and put it in the background. My problem is, when I add the effect it applies it to all the trees in my project. Is there a way around this? Or should I just import another copy of the tree?

Thank You,
Stephen
B
53
S
14
G
13
Posts: 818
Reputation: 17,424

Post » Fri Jun 21, 2013 8:00 pm

I'm not quite sure about putting different effects on objects since I don't have a license yet, but having multiple objects shouldn't matter too much anymore since image deduplication was added.
B
44
S
13
G
7
Posts: 603
Reputation: 7,936

Post » Fri Jun 21, 2013 9:06 pm

How about if you put them on different layers, then apply the effect to the layer instead of the object?
B
27
S
8
G
8
Posts: 903
Reputation: 8,452

Post » Fri Jun 21, 2013 11:34 pm

I believe the recent beta of C2 will recognise sprites which are the same, and only export them once. Should be better on memory too! I'd either do what Nimtrix said, or just clone the tree object.
@bearboxmedia
www.bearboxmedia.com

Nintendo Wii U Developer using Construct 2
B
79
S
12
G
6
Posts: 961
Reputation: 10,217


Return to How do I....?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: jwilkins, Magistross and 9 guests