Ejecta Iphone WebGL / CacoonJS memory limit

Discussion and feedback on Construct 2

Post » Sat Jun 28, 2014 9:55 pm

Hi

Is it possible to run an exported game not in Canvas 2d mode on the Iphone after exporting it with Ejecta?
I used the latest Ejecta Build, compiled with Xcode but my game keeps running on Canvas 2d.
If it is possible does anyone have a good document on achieving this?

Also... would CacoonJS crash on black screen if memory of game is 650mb?
My iphone has 1000+ mb memory available... so the phone can handle it. Not so sure about CacoonJS
B
8
S
2
Posts: 163
Reputation: 1,115

Post » Sun Jun 29, 2014 2:17 am

650MB would crash all Apple devices. Even if it has 1GB of ram.

Because the OS and all the apps running in the background typically consume half the available ram already. Then add to it all the paused/suspended apps users have in memory, you are left with ~200MB to use for your app. More would cause instability on iOS.

On Android in my own limited experience, I could get a 460MB game running on 1GB devices, but it cannot be suspended and resumed. If you go to home screen, resume would crash the game due to out of memory errors.

It's just NOT recommended at all to make such a big game for mobiles with CocoonJS. It's very possible with XDK/Crosswalk. Ejecta also fixed its memory handling so it should be possible also.
B
70
S
24
G
19
Posts: 1,757
Reputation: 17,616

Post » Sun Jun 29, 2014 12:32 pm

650mb is an extraordinary high memory usage and your game may not even run on some desktop systems. See Remember not to waste your memory

You should make sure WebGL is enabled in project properties. Then Ejecta will at least support memory management, helping to avoid out-of-memory crashes. CocoonJS does not support this though.
Scirra Founder
B
402
S
238
G
89
Posts: 24,644
Reputation: 196,095

Post » Sun Jun 29, 2014 2:47 pm

Hi.

Thank you.
I will test again once i switch to mobile version of the game. Last night was just a test to see if the game still runs.
But alas... i have exceeded the memory limits of mobile.
B
8
S
2
Posts: 163
Reputation: 1,115

Post » Sun Jun 29, 2014 10:36 pm

Silverforce wrote: It's very possible with XDK/Crosswalk. Ejecta also fixed its memory handling so it should be possible also.


How about the performance in XDK?
B
13
S
4
G
1
Posts: 241
Reputation: 1,724

Post » Mon Jun 30, 2014 12:16 am

vagaev wrote:
Silverforce wrote: It's very possible with XDK/Crosswalk. Ejecta also fixed its memory handling so it should be possible also.


How about the performance in XDK?


It's good. My complaint with XDK isn't performance, its lack of monetization options. I would happily use it when they ad AdMob & Google Store IAP. It loads big games really fast and use very little memory. It's also got positional sounds that works really well on mobiles with headphones!
B
70
S
24
G
19
Posts: 1,757
Reputation: 17,616

Post » Thu Jul 03, 2014 2:23 pm

Hi.

I got the game memory usage down to less than 500mb.
In the past, im talking 2 months ago... i could launch my game on cacoonjs

But now... all i get are black screens when exporting to cacoonjs from Construct 2.
There are no errors. Just a black screen then the application closes.

So clearly the problem is not memory issues.
Any advise would be appreciated.
B
8
S
2
Posts: 163
Reputation: 1,115

Post » Thu Jul 03, 2014 4:21 pm

@Ashley

I would like the inquire why the only working export is pc.

My memory usage is below 512mb. Yet the game lags on Mac, Iphone, Android, Windows Phones.

It literally only works on pc's.
Something must have broken regarding exporting.

What can i do to investigate where is issue is?
My launch has been delayed weeks now due to constantly redoing everything thinking i was doing something wrong.
But i have officially concluded there is nothing more i can do. Apart from rebuilding the game in another engine.

What can i check, what information do you need. Something is seriously wrong as my game falls within the recommendations of resource usage.
B
8
S
2
Posts: 163
Reputation: 1,115

Post » Thu Jul 03, 2014 6:37 pm

My first game uses 62 megs on iOS and I've seen it crash on people, who are using a lot of apps at the same time. Hell, it even crashed when the Touch Arcade editor played it in their stream last January using a brand new iPad. I was horrified! Gladly it worked the second time he tried, tho.

There's really not much you can do, except designing small games that run well on mobile and testing the game you are building all the time with the lowest device you plan on supporting.

In my experience everything above 100 megs could experience frequent crashes.
Image
B
98
S
36
G
17
Posts: 351
Reputation: 15,953

Post » Thu Jul 03, 2014 7:49 pm

Ok.

Then i would like official confirmation from @Ashley or one of the devs stating that Construct 2 cannot export a game of a specific size (must be specified) and run properly on Mac OSX, IOS, Android and PC.
B
8
S
2
Posts: 163
Reputation: 1,115

Next

Return to Construct 2 General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests