Embedded minigame?

For questions about using Classic.

Post » Sat Aug 28, 2010 4:01 pm

Hey everyone!
I have created a minigame as an easter egg for my main game. I created it as a separate program in construct, and now i am wondering how to bring it into the main game so that when the player gets to the easter egg spot the minigame will launch.
Any ideas?
B
2
G
2
Posts: 15
Reputation: 680

Post » Sat Aug 28, 2010 5:39 pm

why didnt you make in a new layout instead of a new project, im not sure if theres a way/plugin to launch another application through a construct application.
B
52
S
7
G
6
Posts: 1,945
Reputation: 7,610

Post » Sat Aug 28, 2010 5:49 pm

Recreate it on another layout within the main game and use the Layout object, I'd say.
B
62
S
21
G
12
Posts: 1,910
Reputation: 13,155

Post » Sat Aug 28, 2010 7:07 pm

Do not try to copy from one .cap to another, btw. That can seriously mess .caps up. As Mipey said, recreate it.

Oh, and avoid the layout object if possible - it's quite buggy.
Moderator
B
88
S
32
G
33
Posts: 3,005
Reputation: 27,432

Post » Sat Aug 28, 2010 7:43 pm

Well I actually made the minigame first, then as an afterthought wanted to add it to the game. I am planning a few other little hidden games like this, and I will make them all in new layout under the same application.

Is there any easy way to copy/paste everything from one application to another? Can I copy/paste an entire layout?

What is the "layout object" that you are talking about? I thought everything was built in a layout. Is it something different than the main design screen?

Thanks everyone for responding! :)
Nate
B
2
G
2
Posts: 15
Reputation: 680

Post » Sat Aug 28, 2010 7:48 pm

The layout object is a way to show another layout within the current layout... but its terribly bugged.
Also you cant copy an entire layout, but you can copy and paste events.... so long as the corresponding objects exist.
Image Image
B
161
S
48
G
91
Posts: 7,358
Reputation: 67,271

Post » Sat Aug 28, 2010 7:57 pm

Cool Thanks! :) It will probably just get better if i have to rebuild it anyway :)
B
2
G
2
Posts: 15
Reputation: 680


Return to Help & Support using Construct Classic

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests