Embryo (videos and screens)

Post your Construct-made creations!

Post » Mon Aug 02, 2010 1:00 am

I love the procedural animation! At least I love it in the videos - I'm having the same problem actually running the game, it spazzes out for me in exactly the same manner as Davioware described.

Looking forward to more updates!
B
2
S
1
G
2
Posts: 35
Reputation: 870

Post » Mon Aug 02, 2010 3:59 am

JUST, TOO, BIGGGGG

i think my laptops integrated card would die loading one texture.

i do love the mantis sword swingyness though :D

i had set out to make something similar with the whine engine, but alas i didn't have the determination to ever go far with that :D great job.
B
52
S
7
G
6
Posts: 1,945
Reputation: 7,610

Post » Thu Aug 05, 2010 11:49 pm

thanks all, especially those who tried it and reported glitches
try this:
[url:25klzcan]http://dl.dropbox.com/u/1013446/mantis/test.exe[/url:25klzcan]
it's a virus....just kidding
it's a new version, took out a bunch of stuff like buildings, and backgrounds.
I'll worry about adding stuff that should be added later, later
I want to get the basic game working on peoples machines first
this version allows you to set resolution, and should run on machines with 128 megs vram
Spriter Dev
B
87
S
21
G
12
Posts: 3,240
Reputation: 16,461

Post » Fri Aug 06, 2010 12:12 am

Just started the exe. Both windows are partly located outside the top of the screen. On the selection window I couldn't even see the buttons above the 1280 options.

The mantis is running and jumping smooth (and very interesting). The zoom function doesn't work correct.

(graphics processor load 20%)
Image
B
23
S
8
G
10
Posts: 1,820
Reputation: 8,242

Post » Fri Aug 06, 2010 12:21 am

I'm still seeing the same thing - the first screen is way off the top left of my monitor. Full screen mode causes an immediate crash, and the other display modes freeze on me.

I thought it might be my weaksauce laptop so I took it over to my gaming rig and the same thing happened.

I really wanna try this!
B
2
S
1
G
2
Posts: 35
Reputation: 870

Post » Fri Aug 06, 2010 12:53 am

k
thanks again, this version autosets the window to be on screen (hopefully):
[url:2ph0weil]http://dl.dropbox.com/u/1013446/mantis/test.exe[/url:2ph0weil]
Spriter Dev
B
87
S
21
G
12
Posts: 3,240
Reputation: 16,461

Post » Fri Aug 06, 2010 1:08 am

Works! Window's on screen and it works, although fullscreen still caused a crash on my systems.

I'd love a glimpse at that animation cycle of yours, it's really wonderful!
B
2
S
1
G
2
Posts: 35
Reputation: 870

Post » Fri Aug 06, 2010 5:53 am

That's a cool gun there on the last screenshot, what kind of style is that? cyberpunk? it look's unpractical. :lol:
B
9
S
2
G
3
Posts: 176
Reputation: 1,954

Post » Fri Aug 06, 2010 6:30 am

This isn't working on my laptop, no matter what resolution i select, all i get is a white background and i can JUST see the top of the 'praying mantis'? head.....

Also, fullscreen crashes for me too.

Will try on my i7 machine when i get home from work.
B
7
S
2
G
4
Posts: 164
Reputation: 2,418

Post » Fri Aug 06, 2010 9:59 am

EDIT: Forget this post. I was just downloading from cache^^ New version works, window is on screen

EDIT2: Not my day :oops: switching to fullscreen doesn't crash but switches from my desktop resolution 1280x1024 @85Hz to 640x480 @60Hz, while the game area seems to be switched to 1280x1024 (can't see anything but the white background, some markers would be helpful to see what area is displayed)
Image
B
23
S
8
G
10
Posts: 1,820
Reputation: 8,242

PreviousNext

Return to Your Creations

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest