EMERGENCY!CONSTRUCT WONT WORK!PLEASE HELP!!!

For questions about using Classic.

Post » Fri May 01, 2015 1:23 am

the warning box says "Out of Memory" Does that mean I can't expand my game and I have to delete some stuff? The game isn't even half done! I"m so scared!!!
B
22
S
9
G
6
Posts: 72
Reputation: 4,750

Post » Fri May 01, 2015 1:48 am

In c2 when you open your game, in the bottom tab, how much memory does it say is currently in use?
B
45
S
22
G
31
Posts: 685
Reputation: 20,496

Post » Fri May 01, 2015 1:52 am

its construct classic
B
22
S
9
G
6
Posts: 72
Reputation: 4,750

Post » Fri May 01, 2015 2:19 am

It's probably out of video ram. The first thing you can do is look in the task manager for any previews that didn't close correctly and end them. They usually are called temp.exe, temp2.exe, ...
The next thing to consider doing is use smaller texture sizes. You can also keep the number of open layouts in the editor to a minimum. Keep in mind that both the editor and preview use vram so when making the game you'll be using roughly a little under 2x the amount of vram your game will use when exported.
B
92
S
32
G
106
Posts: 5,272
Reputation: 69,455

Post » Sun Jun 21, 2015 5:53 am

all previews are closed and I only have 4 open layouts... What does textures mean? I'm new to this....How do I make them smaller?


also when I restart construct classic it seems to work fine but eventually the error pops up again...Does this still have to do with vram?
B
22
S
9
G
6
Posts: 72
Reputation: 4,750

Post » Sun Jun 21, 2015 4:08 pm

Textures are the images you are using , for backgrounds , characters ,etc . How much vram do you have , you can look in display settings if your not sure . If on system board graphics how much memory is being allocated for the display ?
What I know would fill a Book , what I don't know would fill a Library
B
37
S
12
G
29
Posts: 331
Reputation: 16,499

Post » Mon Jun 22, 2015 3:07 pm

Scirra has a blog post about this. Look for "Not wasting your memory".

I'd post the link but I'm not at 300 rep yet :x
B
42
S
11
G
1
Posts: 264
Reputation: 3,299

Post » Sat Jul 11, 2015 5:58 am

i can't seem to find vram
it says
total available graphics memory 4095 mb
dedicated video memory 1792 mb
system video memory 0mb
share system memory 2303 mb
B
22
S
9
G
6
Posts: 72
Reputation: 4,750


Return to Help & Support using Construct Classic

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests