Enable/disable see-saw

Get help using Construct 2

Post » Wed Feb 12, 2014 7:09 pm

How can I enable and disable a see-saw?
I'm making a physics puzzle and I only want the see-saw to work when I press the play button, before that it needs to stay locked to it's start position/rotation.
Please tag me with @caiorosisca if your post is refering to me :). I don't always follow the topics I answer.
B
11
S
4
G
1
Posts: 272
Reputation: 1,643

Post » Wed Feb 12, 2014 7:54 pm

Couldn't you just set physics disabled on start of layout and on play button pressed set physics enabled?
I told my dentist I had trouble with my teeth and asked her to fix it without looking in my mouth..
B
54
S
16
G
8
Posts: 6,160
Reputation: 19,775

Post » Wed Feb 12, 2014 8:06 pm

August 2015 - I misplaced a lot of links - I will try to find backups and repost. If You find a post that interests please reply to post with @rampackwobble and I will get a nudge!

If you find my posts useful please consider donating something to a local charity or to the http://www.mndassociation.org/
B
64
S
34
G
47
Posts: 1,194
Reputation: 30,892

Post » Wed Feb 12, 2014 8:54 pm

@LittleStain, disabling the physics also affects the joints, it's just like removing them.
@RamPackWobble, I'll update my Construct and try your capx(runnign v.158 here)
Please tag me with @caiorosisca if your post is refering to me :). I don't always follow the topics I answer.
B
11
S
4
G
1
Posts: 272
Reputation: 1,643

Post » Wed Feb 12, 2014 8:57 pm

all it does is sets physics on object to immovable and then on space pressed sets physics to movable...
August 2015 - I misplaced a lot of links - I will try to find backups and repost. If You find a post that interests please reply to post with @rampackwobble and I will get a nudge!

If you find my posts useful please consider donating something to a local charity or to the http://www.mndassociation.org/
B
64
S
34
G
47
Posts: 1,194
Reputation: 30,892

Post » Wed Feb 12, 2014 9:53 pm

Tried that also @RamPackWobble, it just stayed immovable even after setting it back to movable.
Please tag me with @caiorosisca if your post is refering to me :). I don't always follow the topics I answer.
B
11
S
4
G
1
Posts: 272
Reputation: 1,643

Post » Wed Feb 12, 2014 10:22 pm

That all I did but it appears to work - did you try the capx ?
August 2015 - I misplaced a lot of links - I will try to find backups and repost. If You find a post that interests please reply to post with @rampackwobble and I will get a nudge!

If you find my posts useful please consider donating something to a local charity or to the http://www.mndassociation.org/
B
64
S
34
G
47
Posts: 1,194
Reputation: 30,892

Post » Thu Feb 13, 2014 8:25 am

slight change to the above capx - see-saw can now also be "re-frozen" to its position (made un-movable)

demo
August 2015 - I misplaced a lot of links - I will try to find backups and repost. If You find a post that interests please reply to post with @rampackwobble and I will get a nudge!

If you find my posts useful please consider donating something to a local charity or to the http://www.mndassociation.org/
B
64
S
34
G
47
Posts: 1,194
Reputation: 30,892

Post » Thu Feb 13, 2014 8:33 am

Just thinking, but you could also fake it completely, by only creating the seesaw when needed and replacing it with sprites without behaviours when not needed.
I told my dentist I had trouble with my teeth and asked her to fix it without looking in my mouth..
B
54
S
16
G
8
Posts: 6,160
Reputation: 19,775

Post » Thu Feb 13, 2014 11:47 am

Thanks guys, I'm not sure what was wrong, I must have missed something. I rebuilt the whole level from 0 following @RamPackWobble's demo and it worked.
Please tag me with @caiorosisca if your post is refering to me :). I don't always follow the topics I answer.
B
11
S
4
G
1
Posts: 272
Reputation: 1,643

Next

Return to How do I....?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests