Engine inconsistence? (Path arrived & collision)

Discussion and feedback on Construct 2

Post » Thu Dec 29, 2016 3:45 pm

Is there any known issue with inconsistency on Construct 2, in which something may some times not be triggered?

I just released my first Construct game on Steam (http://store.steampowered.com/app/507340/) and one player has reported a weird bug that seems to be an engine inconsistency.

In a given mission where he is escorting a ship, the ship is supposed to, on path arrived, stop and trigger a dialogue. On the first time he played, the ship didn't stop at the path. It just went on moving, passing the location, and there for not triggering the rest of the mission sequence. He restarted the mission and it worked normally.

I never saw this specific error before, nor have any other player or tester reported it so far.

The same player reported that after a later mission, on the ending cutscene, the ships that were supposed to be destroyed when on collision with the hangar just kept on flying, again not triggering the following sequence. Note that in this case the same scene and code is used after every mission, so it doesn't seem like it could be a code issue, but instead some sort of inconsistency: the engine didn't trigger the collision.

Has anyone seen this sort of inconsistency before?

They don't seem to be frequent, but, as the game is now out on sale and these triggers are used many times, I'm worried the issue may come up more often (with more users, more chance of happening).

I'll probably fix both cases with loophole codes, to make sure those inconsistencies have a backup in case they happen, but I thought best to report it here somehow.

Thanks!
- JMBeraldo

* I didn't post this on the Bug forum because I don't have a specific situation and file to show
B
7
Posts: 13
Reputation: 553

Post » Thu Dec 29, 2016 4:49 pm

jmberaldo wrote:

Has anyone seen this sort of inconsistency before?


yes things tend to brake in C2 if you build a high resource game, or more then 30% usage. i seen it happen multiple times, but most of times, happens due to the collisions or image points not being in the centered place, for pathfinding behavior.

also you have to keep in mind C2 is highly dependent, on the FPS it runs at, so if your game is running at under 30-FPS on some computers stuff will definitely brake there sometimes, when the code in that part of the gameplay is very requested. even if normally should be a visual delay only.


e2: you should search topics on how to optimize your game, and make it run faster, save resources, eliminate webgl dependency, anything that can raise cpu utilisation, or gpu etc.


e3: also you should do a multiple machine gameplay test, and create a recommendation specs so user can know what type of machine they need in order to play it without finding/ experiencing bugs etc.


e4: i see on the gamepage you already have a spec build rec

Code: Select all
MINIMUM:
OS: Windows XP
Processor: Intel Core 2 CPU
Memory: 2 GB RAM
Graphics: NVIDIA GT/s 4xx or Equivalent
Storage: 200 MB available space

RECOMMENDED:
OS: Windows 7
Processor: 2.4 Ghz Dual Core
Memory: 2 GB RAM
Graphics: Nvidia Geforce 600 Series or Higher
Storage: 200 MB available space



however there is not a big of difference between them, is the user who experienced the gameplay using a similar machine atleast as the recommended or minimum one? or is using some absolute machine?
Last edited by gamecorpstudio on Thu Dec 29, 2016 4:57 pm, edited 5 times in total.
B
70
S
20
G
67
Posts: 1,314
Reputation: 42,301

Post » Thu Dec 29, 2016 4:49 pm

Sometimes collisions don't trigger every time if the object hitting the trigger point obstacle is moving too fast, or if the collision obstacle is too small. This can be especially true when running on lower end machines. I'm not sure if that is your problem or not but it might be a good place to start looking. There are several work around for the issue (if that turns out to be what the problem is). A quick forum search should help if that's the case.
B
60
S
20
G
56
Posts: 1,077
Reputation: 35,941

Post » Thu Dec 29, 2016 5:17 pm

Thanks for the replies.

I'm running a few tests now that should fix the issue in the two situations the player reported, then I'll see what I can do about other places where this could also happen.

I'll also check the forums for the tips you two suggest.

Thanks a lot!
B
7
Posts: 13
Reputation: 553

Post » Thu Dec 29, 2016 5:58 pm

You could figure out the time needed by adding the distance() between each node and setting a timer.
Image ImageImage
B
168
S
50
G
163
Posts: 8,221
Reputation: 105,061


Return to Construct 2 General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Yahoo [Bot] and 4 guests