Error Saving Project

Bugs will be moved here once resolved.

Post » Mon May 30, 2016 3:02 am

Problem Description
When attempting to save a project as a .capx file, I receive this error message:

Error saving project 'New project' - the project has NOT been saved to disk. We apologize for any loss of work. Please report this issue to Scirra!

Message: Failed to move .caproj.tmp to .caproj!
File:\\?\C:\Users\Sarrin\AppData\Local\Temp\cap2QQ1Z3\New project.caproj.tmp

Attach a Capx
Unable to comply due to the nature of the problem.

Description of Capx
This Capx fails to exist.

Steps to Reproduce Bug
  • Select 'Save as single file' from file menu
  • Name file and specify destination
  • Receive error message

Observed Result
Failure to save file, accompanied by the above error message.

Expected Result
Ideally, a .capx would be created rather than an error message.

Affected Browsers
  • All/None

Operating System and Service Pack
Windows 7 Pro SP1

Construct 2 Version ID
Release 227 (64-bit)
B
10
S
2
G
4
Posts: 10
Reputation: 2,566

Post » Thu Jun 02, 2016 6:24 am

Update: I have no idea if this is related, but I have noticed that the autosave function is appending an additional '.capx' suffix each time it saves. I glanced up at my project just now and realized that the window bar said I was working on "myproject.capx.capx.capx.capx.capx.capx.capx.capx.capx.capx.capx.capx.autosave".

Again, no idea if that's related to my saving issue, but it seemed like it might be. Also, I have tried reinstalling Construct 2, but it does not seem to have accomplished anything.


Further Update: I have purchased a license and have stopped experiencing the problem. Works for me :D


...Correction: it worked one time, and has since resumed the error described above.
B
10
S
2
G
4
Posts: 10
Reputation: 2,566

Post » Mon Jun 06, 2016 2:00 pm

Strange, as never had this issue before or seen anyone else with it.

Have you checked your disk for errors, viruses? Anything special you may be doing while your project is opened in the editor which may
lock the disk in any way?
B
10
S
3
Posts: 87
Reputation: 957

Post » Wed Jun 08, 2016 7:32 am

Good call- I had a program called 'bytefence' and an install of Chromium, neither of which were supposed to be there. I got rid of them and ran an anti-virus program, and since then I've been able to save to single files. Thanks ^_^
B
10
S
2
G
4
Posts: 10
Reputation: 2,566

Post » Mon Jun 20, 2016 2:51 pm

Closing as probably caused by conflicting software.
Scirra Founder
B
395
S
232
G
88
Posts: 24,371
Reputation: 193,762


Return to Closed bugs

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest