Error when I load a preview

For questions about using Classic.

Post » Mon Jan 26, 2009 7:46 pm

Hmmm... I ripped some of the animations out the falling and things but for some reason I was still getting the error. It seems that construct dosent remove the files until you save and restart or maybe just save.
B
5
S
2
G
4
Posts: 632
Reputation: 2,829

Post » Mon Jan 26, 2009 8:29 pm

[quote:yvskx95j]Currently Construct loads all textures from all objects in to VRAM on startup. This should be improved to be configurable layout-by-layout in future, but that still won't help.[/quote:yvskx95j]

:shock: are there any plans for a configuration option soon?
seems kind of odd to load in textures i won't even use until the end of the game when I boot it up... :|

I'm also working on this project and can scale the render size of the character...

Also, would loading external images work? loading when we need them only?

Or once loaded, can they be forgotten somehow?

if I got the textures down to 256x256 and cut the animation sizes to a maximum of 30 frames at most for the longest animations, 16 for walking, and 6-8 for idle would this be a big help?
B
2
S
1
G
4
Posts: 156
Reputation: 1,612

Post » Mon Jan 26, 2009 8:38 pm

Yeah, it needs to be changed and it will. It makes the requirements higher than they need to be, because all your menu textures will be in VRAM while you're in the main game, etc. However, it does almost completely eliminate loading times. Scaling never affects it because only the source original texture is stored in VRAM.

A 30 frame animation of 256x256 frames is still going to use about 8 mb VRAM, so after a handful of objects you could be knocking out all cards with less than 128mb VRAM from playing your game. Even if Construct was clever enough to load animation frames only when they're displayed, it would perform very poorly, because transferring textures from the CPU to GPU is slow, and they're stored as PNG files which need to be decompressed first. To be honest, you're going to have difficulties designing your game like this. Try scaling everything down to 128x128 or smaller.
Scirra Founder
B
359
S
214
G
72
Posts: 22,949
Reputation: 178,574

Post » Mon Jan 26, 2009 9:09 pm

[quote="Ashley":2a3dl2jn]Try scaling everything down to 128x128 or smaller.[/quote:2a3dl2jn]

:| One desperate question: could I stack two 128x128 sprites on top of one another?
Would this help at all or am I just SOL?

If my proposed solution does not work, I may only make the character this large and make the enemies small :? ...

Thanks for the help.
B
2
S
1
G
4
Posts: 156
Reputation: 1,612

Post » Tue Jan 27, 2009 12:56 am

Uh-oh.

This might affect Sol because I know he wants to go "BIGGER IS BETTER" with Chamber, and make all graphics native to HD resolutions and scale it down from there.

Perhaps some sort of optional, advanced "Buffer on call" feature for sprites and tiles could be implemented? Then any sprite or tile marked with such a thing would have to be manually told to load to or clear from VRAM with events.
Moderator
B
5
S
2
G
6
Posts: 4,348
Reputation: 10,971

Post » Tue Jan 27, 2009 3:43 am

What he said. this was we can clear the Vram and have more control over what is loaded and what isnt. Even if you only loaded on the start of the layout, it may be slower but it would be better for higher res games.
B
5
S
2
G
4
Posts: 632
Reputation: 2,829

Post » Tue Jan 27, 2009 10:36 am

Yes, I need these kinds of features myself as well, so rest assured I'm planning something ;)
Scirra Founder
B
359
S
214
G
72
Posts: 22,949
Reputation: 178,574

Post » Wed Jan 28, 2009 3:53 am

Cant wait to see them. I guess we will just have to deal with smaller images for now. Any Idea for when these features may be implemented? I'm guessing probably not before 1.0...
B
5
S
2
G
4
Posts: 632
Reputation: 2,829

Post » Wed Jan 28, 2009 10:07 am

It should be one of the last features implemented before 1.0. (We have to stop adding features at some point, or we'd never get to 1.0!)
Scirra Founder
B
359
S
214
G
72
Posts: 22,949
Reputation: 178,574

Previous

Return to Help & Support using Construct Classic

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests