Error while preview the file

Discussion and feedback on Construct 2

Post » Tue May 22, 2012 11:14 am

We are still checking the possible cause on WIN7, for time being we have setup WIN XP machine. It is working fine on XP machine.

Will update if the solution found for WIN 7.

thanks,
Shailesh
B
9
S
2
G
4
Posts: 23
Reputation: 2,766

Post » Wed Jan 23, 2013 11:21 am

Any updates on this ? I have a similar issue. I can't preview, trying both over LAN and localhost.

Port kept at 50000, opened up in firewall and router (even tried with disabled firewall). I'm running as administrator and tried in Firefox and Chrome (both latest). R114 64-bit.
Win 7 Ultimate 64-bit SP1
Intel i7 2.67GHz, 18GB RAM

The error codes I get are 1232 and 1214 though.   

I've tried with WAMP on and off, but could WAMP be causing a conflict in the first place ? I currently export as HTML and then use WAMP to serve it as localhost and can test then. Not sure if I can test on other devices though, or do I need to upload it to dropbox then ?

I do know I can't seem to setup a home group, so maybe there's an issue there (I'm a tech noob).
B
11
S
3
G
1
Posts: 19
Reputation: 2,010

Post » Wed Jan 23, 2013 11:55 am

Error 1214 is "The format of the specified network name is invalid." and error 1232 is "The network location cannot be reached." Considering the preview server runs on localhost and does not actually go over a network, this sounds like your computer is misconfigured or is conflicting with something else you have installed (WAMP?). Have you tried other ports in the 50000-65000 range as well?
Scirra Founder
B
359
S
214
G
72
Posts: 22,949
Reputation: 178,544

Post » Wed Jan 23, 2013 1:42 pm

Thanks! Yes, I tried port 60000 for instance. Misconfigured might be a possibility as well, since I can't seem to setup a homegroup either (although I do seem to have joined a default one).

I'll keep using the export method for the time being and try to learn more about networking in the meantime. And deinstalling WAMP, although I installed it in order to preview in the first place since the first time I tried to preview it didn't work either. But can't say for sure if that was the same problem since I hadn't opened the ports in my firewall at the time.
B
11
S
3
G
1
Posts: 19
Reputation: 2,010

Post » Tue Jan 29, 2013 6:31 am

I'm having the same error on my computer, except I'm getting (5) at the end of the error message.
B
2
Posts: 2
Reputation: 254

Post » Tue Jan 29, 2013 12:46 pm

@Lordtommy33 - have you tried troubleshooting Construct 2's preview server?
Scirra Founder
B
359
S
214
G
72
Posts: 22,949
Reputation: 178,544

Post » Tue Jan 29, 2013 4:28 pm

Thank you, I got it to work. For some reason I couldn't find that page before :/
B
2
Posts: 2
Reputation: 254

Previous

Return to Construct 2 General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests