Event sheet change applies to all layouts???

Get help using Construct 2

Post » Tue Feb 18, 2014 5:08 am

Hi,
Whenever I select an event sheet for a layout it changes all layouts to that one event sheet. When I go through and try to change them all, they all do the same thing. Whatever event sheet I try to change it to, it changes all layouts to that event sheet also. Thanks heaps!
B
7
Posts: 27
Reputation: 407

Post » Tue Feb 18, 2014 6:12 am

Event Sheets are independent of Layout. They are program sequence. Different sheets are different program sequences.

When you set a layout the layout will used the defined sheet. If multiple layouts use the same sheet(because you can set the default sheet on the layout properties) then those layouts use the same sheet. Even if it's just one sheet then they share the one sheet.
B
90
S
18
G
9
Posts: 2,455
Reputation: 15,013

Post » Tue Feb 18, 2014 6:32 am

Hi, I don't think you understand what is happening. :) I understand that you can have multiple layouts set to the same event sheet. What happens is when I assign "Layout One" to "Event Sheet 1" all of the other layouts get set to "Event Sheet 1".

I do this:
set "Layout One" to "Event Sheet 1"

What happens after I do that:
"Layout One" gets set to "Event Sheet 1"
"Layout Two" gets set to "Event Sheet 1"
"Layout Three" gets set to "Event Sheet 1"

No matter what I set each layout to, all of the other layouts become the same... As you can probably guess this is extremely frustrating. ;)

Thanks, jaimyn :)
B
7
Posts: 27
Reputation: 407

Post » Tue Feb 18, 2014 8:41 am

Hey,

I'm confused with your problem. What you describe isn't the normal way for C2 to work, so we must be misunderstanding you, or you have a buggy install.
When you say "set Layout One to Event Sheet 1", you mean in the property bar, in the "Event sheet" field of the "Layout 1" properties, right ? If not, please explain where you set it.
B
17
S
8
G
4
Posts: 461
Reputation: 6,137

Post » Tue Feb 18, 2014 10:02 am

Yes, that is what it is doing. ?? I thought I might have been doing something wrong so I wanted to check before I did anything like re-install it and stuff. ;) I am trying that now, will let you know how it goes. :)
B
7
Posts: 27
Reputation: 407

Post » Tue Feb 18, 2014 10:27 am

*UPDATE*
I have just done some testing and I have discovered it only does it with that project. If I open a blank one and try to assign different event sheets it works. I have also re-installed the latest Construct 2 and it is still doing the same thing. :/
B
7
Posts: 27
Reputation: 407

Post » Tue Feb 18, 2014 10:32 am

Well... that seems like a buggy project. Care to share so we can take a look ? Or maybe just start copy pasting everything from the first project to a blank one...
B
17
S
8
G
4
Posts: 461
Reputation: 6,137

Post » Tue Feb 18, 2014 10:46 am

I tried copying to a new project but it wouldn't let me because of some global variables... I tried on a different PC and it doesn't work. Here is a link: https://drive.google.com/file/d/0BwqZI88ckbEYZjVselp4RnpmSjA/edit?usp=sharingjabelone2014-02-18 10:49:26
B
7
Posts: 27
Reputation: 407

Post » Tue Feb 18, 2014 11:08 am

I didn't have any problem changing the event sheets associated to each layout... Here is your file with only that changed.
capx
B
17
S
8
G
4
Posts: 461
Reputation: 6,137

Post » Tue Feb 18, 2014 11:16 am

Sorry to bud in, but I got scared like that the first time too. The thing is after you click on a layout on the top bar you olso have to click somewhere inside the layout.
Then it will refresh and display the properties for the selected layout, otherwise it just shows you the new layout but the properties menu remains set for the last one you clicked. And it made me think it uses the same event sheet for all layouts too.
Could you be making the same mistake?

P.S. Guizmus I updated my "How do I, complex menu" post with a reply for you. Maybe check it out when you have some time please? Thank you. VIKINGS2014-02-18 11:23:14
B
21
S
11
G
6
Posts: 414
Reputation: 5,335

Next

Return to How do I....?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: 99Instances2Go, FlyingRam, jkmalau, MadSpy, Manubis, marcinkowski, newday198913, Yahoo [Bot] and 8 guests