.exe not working right on Vista

For questions about using Classic.

Post » Sat May 01, 2010 12:29 am

Okay, I'm not sure if it's a Vista thing or a hardware thing, but I am unable to see the game on a vista machine. I open it and the window comes up, and there are things happening in the background, but I can't see them.. It's just black. It will run on my comp(XP) and on 7, but the only computer that it HAS to run on (Vista - at school) it won't.

Any idea what's going on? I'm not using any 3rd party pugins, in case that helps. The Vista machine is MUCH more powerful and substantially newer than the machine I am making the game on. Any suggestions are much appreciated.

Thanks.

TT
B
1
G
3
Posts: 7
Reputation: 839

Post » Sat May 01, 2010 4:59 am

It's not the OS.
B
2
S
2
G
2
Posts: 372
Reputation: 1,794

Post » Sat May 01, 2010 5:08 am

Does it run if you try to launch it directly from within construct?
B
7
S
2
G
4
Posts: 164
Reputation: 2,418

Post » Sat May 01, 2010 7:30 am

What version of Directx?
Image Image
B
161
S
48
G
91
Posts: 7,358
Reputation: 67,271

Post » Sat May 01, 2010 10:56 pm

DX- 9 or 10, I know that it's compatible because I updated it myself.

About running from the preview, I'm not sure. I think I checked, and I don't think it did run right, but I'll check for sure on Monday.

Does anyone know of any issues with DX or Construct and nvidea 200 series cards? I haven't been able to find any.

Thanks for the help.
TT
B
1
G
3
Posts: 7
Reputation: 839

Post » Sat May 01, 2010 11:00 pm

Construct doesn't run on 10. Only the latest 9.
Image Image
B
161
S
48
G
91
Posts: 7,358
Reputation: 67,271

Post » Sun May 02, 2010 1:16 pm

You can run the DirectX 9 Installation in Windows Vista. It will install the missing DirectX 9 files. Same works for Windows 7.
B
7
S
1
G
2
Posts: 87
Reputation: 1,099

Post » Sun May 02, 2010 3:38 pm

Are your graphics card drivers up to date? That's often the source of problems.
Scirra Founder
B
359
S
214
G
72
Posts: 22,952
Reputation: 178,600

Post » Sat May 08, 2010 8:56 pm

Drivers are up to date, DX9.
B
1
G
3
Posts: 7
Reputation: 839

Post » Tue May 11, 2010 2:01 am

Solved. It was an issue with administrative rights and the way the computer was set up. Thanks everyone for your help and suggestions.
TT
B
1
G
3
Posts: 7
Reputation: 839

Next

Return to Help & Support using Construct Classic

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Yahoo [Bot] and 1 guest