execute file

For questions about using Classic.

Post » Mon Nov 17, 2008 4:29 pm

I tell the program to execute C:\update.exe But it does nouthing. The file is there.
B
2
G
4
Posts: 69
Reputation: 1,188

Post » Thu Nov 20, 2008 5:05 pm

Can anyone help?
B
2
G
4
Posts: 69
Reputation: 1,188

Post » Thu Nov 20, 2008 7:00 pm

I don't quite know where's the option to execute file, but anyways try using \\ instead of \
So it'll be like this:
[code:29saujqh]C:\\update.exe[/code:29saujqh]
B
6
S
3
G
6
Posts: 219
Reputation: 3,013

Post » Thu Nov 20, 2008 8:28 pm

No, you don't need double slashes anywhere in Construct.

Can you post a .cap file that isnt working? Maybe make it try to run calc.exe so we can use it (none of us presumably have this update.exe file).
Scirra Founder
B
359
S
214
G
72
Posts: 22,952
Reputation: 178,600

Post » Tue Nov 25, 2008 2:05 pm

[url:39lu23dg]http://nanoware.no-ip.org/test.cap[/url:39lu23dg]
B
2
G
4
Posts: 69
Reputation: 1,188

Post » Tue Nov 25, 2008 5:01 pm

The file "C:\calc.exe" doesn't exist for me. If I change it to just "calc.exe", it launches Calculator just fine (because without a path it also looks in the windows directory).

Are you sure the file you're trying to execute exists? Is there really an update.exe in the C:\ directory? Besides, you really, really shouldn't dump files in the C:\ directory. Use the AppPath expression to keep everything inside the application's folder.
Scirra Founder
B
359
S
214
G
72
Posts: 22,952
Reputation: 178,600

Post » Wed Nov 26, 2008 8:56 am

The file was curropt. Thats why it didn't work.
B
2
G
4
Posts: 69
Reputation: 1,188


Return to Help & Support using Construct Classic

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests