Execute screen size @ 200% [solved]

Get help using Construct 2

Post » Sun Sep 09, 2012 7:06 pm

Hi,

I'm working on an 8-bit NES inspired game and my layout is 256x224. I want to continue to work at this scale, but I want the game to scale up 200% (512 x 448) when it's executed. I have an art background, but I'm not a programmer. Is there an easy way to achieve this?

Thanks.

Edit: problem solved
I'll post a walk through for anyone searching for the same answer.

Step 1
----------
Add event:
System > Start & End > On start of layout

Add the following actions to it:
System > Layers & Layout > Set layout scale > Scale: 2.0 (or whatever size you want)
System > Display > Set canvas size > Width: 512 Height: 448 ( or whatever size matches the scaled layout)

Step 2
----------
View Project Properties > Configuration Settings > Sampling: Point

Special thanks to shinkan for the help.Karzay2012-09-14 16:02:00
B
5
Posts: 25
Reputation: 375

Post » Wed Sep 12, 2012 5:52 am

I too would love to know how to do this. In Stencyl there was just a setting for 2x, 3x, 4x, etc. So when building retro games you could make a screen with 32x32 pixels, set it up to 2x and have a screen at 64x64 pixels.

Any simple way to do this?
B
7
S
1
G
2
Posts: 4
Reputation: 1,135

Post » Wed Sep 12, 2012 6:37 am

You can set the fullscreen mode setting to 'Integer scale', which scales up the game with a factor of 1x, 2x, 3x, ... (depending of the window size).

This won't force the game to 2x the scale which you asked for, but it's at least something in the right direction.

You could also try setting the scale rate of the layout to 2, and see if this works the way you want.basti2012-09-12 06:38:54
B
20
S
5
G
4
Posts: 51
Reputation: 4,139

Post » Wed Sep 12, 2012 11:55 am

Thank you for the response. I've tried using the 'integer scale', but the pixel art doesn't stay crisp. I was hoping if I can control the zoom, instead of the scale, it would keep the pixel art sharp.

Is there a way to have the game zoom in 200% or 2x and enlarge the window the same?
B
5
Posts: 25
Reputation: 375

Post » Wed Sep 12, 2012 6:12 pm

I was wondering how to do this just the other day.
It's a feature easy to do with native EXE game makers like Game Maker.
For my game - My Irrational Fear of Unicorns, I wanted smooth movements but with 8-bit styled graphics, so I just had to scale my graphics all manually in C2.
B
36
S
10
G
6
Posts: 948
Reputation: 11,101

Post » Wed Sep 12, 2012 6:25 pm

something like this change size ?

use left and right mouse buttons to scale up/down
shinkan2012-09-12 18:26:35
ImageImageImageImage
B
140
S
58
G
36
Posts: 2,547
Reputation: 31,170

Post » Fri Sep 14, 2012 5:46 am

[QUOTE=shinkan] something like this change size ?

use left and right mouse buttons to scale up/down
[/QUOTE] Link is broken and/or dead.
B
7
S
1
G
2
Posts: 4
Reputation: 1,135

Post » Fri Sep 14, 2012 6:21 am

You mean something like this? [link removed] (it's an 8-bit game i'm making, it's set to 2x) let me know, then I check how I did it7Soul2012-09-14 18:00:24
B
83
S
21
G
15
Posts: 1,039
Reputation: 15,129

Post » Fri Sep 14, 2012 11:54 am

Here you go, forgot I was doing some cleanup on my dropbox.

change size
ImageImageImageImage
B
140
S
58
G
36
Posts: 2,547
Reputation: 31,170

Post » Fri Sep 14, 2012 2:02 pm

@7Soul
Exactly like that. I'm using a laptop with a small screen to build the game and when I test the game out, it's too small to see what's happening. Resizing the window deteriates the sprites. I need the it to zoom in to enlarge the layout or I'll have to enlarge the sprites manually. I have a lot of art, so I cringe at the thought.

@shinkan
Yes! You're a life saver! The pixel art looks great in your example. I like how you used the mouse to resize the screen from 2x to the actual size. That's clever. I'm guessing if I change the mouse function to System>Start & End>On start of layout then this will become the default size? Actually, I going to switch it up and make a keystroke change the size and let the player have that option.

Thank you!
B
5
Posts: 25
Reputation: 375

Next

Return to How do I....?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: badmoodtaylor and 9 guests