Experimental Greenworks plugin

Discussion and feedback on Construct 2

Post » Sun Jun 14, 2015 3:12 pm

@Auriel do you recommend NW 10.5 for archivements, or for additional reasons? I'm using NW 12.2 and looks like its working fine.
B
63
S
22
G
4
Posts: 357
Reputation: 6,503

Post » Sun Jun 14, 2015 3:36 pm

Also, does 0.4 work also for NW 10.5, or just 11?
B
63
S
22
G
4
Posts: 357
Reputation: 6,503

Post » Sun Jun 14, 2015 3:56 pm

Danwood > NW 10.5 for achievements support, using Greenworks 0.3. You may have to add the --in process gpu- chrome arg so the notifications are correctly displayed on windows and linux)
Image | @AurelRegard on twitter
B
19
S
6
G
1
Posts: 307
Reputation: 2,500

Post » Sun Jun 14, 2015 6:48 pm

@Aurel as far as you know, are there also other advantages in using NW 10.5 instead of 12? Also, how can i add the -in process gpu- chrome arg?

PS: i'm a huge fan of your work and i'm developing a large project as well ;)
B
63
S
22
G
4
Posts: 357
Reputation: 6,503

Post » Mon Jun 15, 2015 1:37 pm

(Thanks for the kind words!)

Once exported, you can edit your package.json with notepad.
You'll find some " --enable gamepad" and other things in it.
Adding lines like --ignore gpu blacklist" or "in-process-gpu" (look for other threads about this, you'll find many of them) will help your game to run alright on many configurations.
Most of these tags don't work anymore on latest NW, that's why many of us are still using nw 10.5. It has bugs, but they're known, which helps a lot when using google to fix stuff.
Image | @AurelRegard on twitter
B
19
S
6
G
1
Posts: 307
Reputation: 2,500

Post » Tue Jun 23, 2015 10:00 pm

I need som help. It has been mentioned before but I can't find a solution.

I have followed the steps and tried every version of the greenworks plugin and I always get this error when I try to run the game and on some versions it only crashes on launch.

Uncaught node.js Error

Error: Cannot find module './lib/greenworks-win32'
at Function.Module._resolveFilename (module.js:336:15)
at Function.Module._load (module.js:273:25)
at Module.require (module.js:362:17)
at require (module.js:378:17)
at Object.<anonymous> (C:\Users\Linus\AppData\Local\Temp\nw9492_10344\greenworks.js:14:18)
at Module._compile (module.js:454:26)
at Object.Module._extensions..js (module.js:472:10)
at Module.load (module.js:354:32)
at Function.Module._load (module.js:310:12)
at Module.require (module.js:362:17)

I'm using NW 10.5 if that has anything to do with it? And yes I have renamed the exe to nw.exe :)

Thank you in advance

UPDATE:
Reinstalled construct and everything and even tried the latest node webkit and now the game launches with greenwork plugin but I only get black screen. What to do? :P
Did you ever solve this @Aurel
B
52
S
22
G
12
Posts: 728
Reputation: 11,722

Post » Wed Jun 24, 2015 12:21 pm

Guys, for those that are using 10.5 NW, and greenworks 0.3, it wont work with the latest steam_api.dll

I used one from 2014 to make it work.
Image
B
30
S
5
G
1
Posts: 125
Reputation: 3,220

Post » Wed Jun 24, 2015 12:32 pm

@lwgames Thank you! This was the problem. The new SDK doesn't work with greenworks atm. So by using an older SDK it worked like a charm! No more errors or black screens. Finally I can upload my game.

@ashley This should be updated on the first post so more people won't get stuck on this step for ages :)
B
52
S
22
G
12
Posts: 728
Reputation: 11,722

Post » Thu Jun 25, 2015 2:13 pm

Jesus Christ I wish we can stop going back to using all these old SDKs and work arounds constantly.

Are we stuck on 10.5 NW (with hacks to get it to work!) forever? Any day steam may do an API update and we're screwed.

It needs to be said, this should be the priority @Scirra!
B
70
S
24
G
19
Posts: 1,757
Reputation: 17,614

Post » Mon Jul 06, 2015 3:12 am

Hi, I'm sitting here with the game and downloaded both steam APK and the older version of greenworks. I'm a bit confused at the step that's bolded:

1. Rename package.nw to package.zip
2. Copy steam_api.dll from Steamworks SDK in to package.zip. Note you must be using the latest version of the Steamworks SDK (currently 1.31).
3. Rename package.zip back to package.nw
4. Make sure the EXE file is called nw.exe. For some reason it doesn't work if the executable file has a different name.
5. Create a text file named steam_appid.txt in the same folder as nw.exe. This should contain nothing but your app ID on Steam. If you don't have one yet, for testing it seems to work if you just enter 123456, but it won't work unless that file exists and has a number in it.
6. Repeat steps 1-5 for the win64 version, except this time copying steam_api64.dll from the Steamworks SDK.
7. Make sure Steam is also running and signed in.
8. Start the app and test if it works.


After renaming package.zip to package.nw, what does it mean by EXE file? I'm looking for an executable file, but I'm not seeing it. Is it talking about your game with C2s Node Webkit icon or something else? Do I need to actually rename the game to "nw.exe" just as typed?

Thanks!
Image
B
15
S
4
G
3
Posts: 119
Reputation: 3,787

PreviousNext

Return to Construct 2 General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: vegapomme27 and 2 guests