Experimental Greenworks plugin

Discussion and feedback on Construct 2

Post » Mon Jul 13, 2015 12:12 am

Awesome, thanks so much for the guide! Game seems to export fine with achievements although video plugin (webm/ogv/mp4) refuses to work in NW10.5 (not exactly greenworks related, although another good reason to get greenworks working with a later version of NW)
B
5
S
1
Posts: 21
Reputation: 492

Post » Mon Jul 13, 2015 12:14 am

Also, can you clarify -- what do you mean you got 64 bit version and Mac/Linux working via that method? It seems to explicitly state that 64 bit wouldn't work. (And if you have the latest Mac/Linux files that I could copy and paste into the requisite folder, we'd be ever so grateful to test if it'll work for our game.. we've been struggling to get Mac/Linux working given the high number of objects/files read in.. read somewhere it was a 500 object/file count limit)
B
5
S
1
Posts: 21
Reputation: 492

Post » Mon Jul 13, 2015 12:31 pm

thanks Ashley I testing!!!! n.n
hello!! coming soon EGS 2016
B
16
S
1
Posts: 26
Reputation: 944

Post » Mon Jul 13, 2015 2:41 pm

I'm thinking I'll need to roll back to an earlier version of C2 so I can use the plug in. If I uninstall C2 would that have any affect on my projects as well?
Image
B
15
S
4
G
3
Posts: 121
Reputation: 3,791

Post » Tue Jul 14, 2015 2:50 pm

So, I dug through my emails and found some older C2 versions I never downloaded and popped in 184. I was able to drag and drop the older greenworks plug in, restarted C2 and started adding achievements to the game. Unfortunately at this time I have to get to work so I want to experiment with this when I get home and let everyone know my findings.
Image
B
15
S
4
G
3
Posts: 121
Reputation: 3,791

Post » Wed Jul 15, 2015 5:20 am

Forgive the bump:

I reverted back to c187. Installed greenworks 0.4.0 addon. Downside to the plug in is that I can't test the game in Node Webkit from C2 anymore, I have to export it and rework it to open from the Steam client.

Now for my next question. Not sure if its breaking NDA for asking, so feel free to PM me if you have an answer. Some folks a few pages back have real achievements with custom images on said achievement in their posts so I'm assuming you have to upload your game to Steam or "app data" and edit each achievement to get them to show correct? After some issues I was able to get the game to run on my own client but nothing was popping up. So my guess is that's what I should do.

Also, there is no way to rename the game once you submit it is there, it's going to show up as "nw" when other people play it?

Sorry for the questions.
Image
B
15
S
4
G
3
Posts: 121
Reputation: 3,791

Post » Fri Jul 24, 2015 11:09 am

GG-Works wrote:Forgive the bump:

I reverted back to c187. Installed greenworks 0.4.0 addon. Downside to the plug in is that I can't test the game in Node Webkit from C2 anymore, I have to export it and rework it to open from the Steam client.

Now for my next question. Not sure if its breaking NDA for asking, so feel free to PM me if you have an answer. Some folks a few pages back have real achievements with custom images on said achievement in their posts so I'm assuming you have to upload your game to Steam or "app data" and edit each achievement to get them to show correct? After some issues I was able to get the game to run on my own client but nothing was popping up. So my guess is that's what I should do.

Also, there is no way to rename the game once you submit it is there, it's going to show up as "nw" when other people play it?

Sorry for the questions.


195 works too, just be sure to have the 10.5 installed(nodewebkit).

Achievements wont be visible on store pages, or other users, until you release the game, you will see them when playing on steam since you are the developer. As for implementation read the Steam guide for achievements, its quite easy, 2 type of images, name and some id to call them with the game. But first get yourself acquainted with steam pipe system(depots, build, test environment).

Dont worry about the nw.exe, as long as you use steam, the shortcuts and everything will show the name of the game, not nw.exe
Image
B
30
S
5
G
1
Posts: 125
Reputation: 3,226

Post » Fri Jul 24, 2015 6:52 pm

Why are people reverting back to older c2 versions? I am still using the latest version and it works fine with nw 10.5? Am I missing something?
B
57
S
24
G
14
Posts: 771
Reputation: 13,133

Post » Fri Jul 24, 2015 8:21 pm

@Anonnymitet Yep, with your help we've got it working on the latest version as well! Thanks so much. Although not quite yet for Mac+Linux if you have advice there.

Ideally we'd like to use a later version of NW so it works with webm videos.. maybe when we get C3?
B
5
S
1
Posts: 21
Reputation: 492

Post » Fri Jul 24, 2015 10:41 pm

@AvidlyWildGames Hehe good to hear. I can't take any credits though. I just linked a great guide made by other C2 users. So all cred to them :) I haven't released anything yet to linux and mac. But I'm working on it. So I'll tell you if I get it to work.
B
57
S
24
G
14
Posts: 771
Reputation: 13,133

PreviousNext

Return to Construct 2 General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests