Experimental Greenworks plugin

Discussion and feedback on Construct 2

Post » Sun Oct 25, 2015 8:00 pm

I agree it would be nice to have some official info from Scirra about this issue - people are already asking why our game does not have the Steam overlay implemented, and I'm sure this is the case of many others here. @Ashley, could you please shed some light on this?
B
37
S
6
G
1
Posts: 12
Reputation: 3,518

Post » Mon Oct 26, 2015 12:07 am

I just tested MadSpys latest plugin update and he now has it working with both NW12 and 10.5 if people prefers that older version with the 134 steam sdk. But NW12 works great for me without any problems and all important steam features. He really puts a lot of time and effort into this so I really thinks he deserves some kind of response here.

Having an up to date steam plugin is the most important thing for a game engine. Without steam support = no serious game developers.
B
55
S
24
G
13
Posts: 765
Reputation: 12,571

Post » Mon Oct 26, 2015 12:34 am

"Without steam support = no serious game developers".

Are you for real?
ImageImageImageImage
B
157
S
66
G
42
Posts: 2,603
Reputation: 35,343

Post » Mon Oct 26, 2015 3:07 am

Hi,

After having had some discussions and afterthought, I finaly worked on greenworks by greenheartgames source and rebuilded node file.(and a new plugin)
So I already have for the moment:
- a plugin for NW10.5 with SDK134 with the following (basics) features:
* is steam available
* is steam overlay available
* get SteamID
* get Screen Name (of user)
* get Steam user level
* show overlay page "..."
* Action Activate achievement "name"
** condition activate achievement success
** condition activate achievement error
all this feature work as intended.

# currently working on the feature already added in NW12 version.

- a plugin for NW12.0 with SDK134 with the following features:
* all previous features
* is cloud enabled for the game
* is cloud enabled/allowed for steam by user
* get number of achievements
* action clear/reset achievements (by name)
** condition clear/reset achievement success
** condition clear/reset achievement error

# currently added but not tested:
* condition is valid account
* get Language of the game
* get language of the steam UI

# currently working on:
* adding steam leaderboard
*adding steam worshop function

In the same time, I'm working on a way to avoid steam emulator and cracked steam game.

I think I will create a new thread for a new plugin for Steam support soon.
Image Image
B
25
S
14
G
136
Posts: 876
Reputation: 71,005

Post » Mon Oct 26, 2015 7:44 am

Anonnymitet wrote:He really puts a lot of time and effort into this so I really thinks he deserves some kind of response here.

+1
B
135
S
33
G
17
Posts: 1,557
Reputation: 20,717

Post » Mon Oct 26, 2015 10:51 am

@shinkan I'm not saying that only steam matters of course. You can be a serious developer without developing for steam. But to be honest. If it said on the scirra homepage that Steam wasn't really supported wouldn't you have looked for another option when choosing a game engine if you are planning to make a living out of it? I would because I knew that I wanted to make games for both PC and mobile.

So what I meant was that if C2 doesn't have up to date steam support it will scare off many serious developers who would choose an engine that exports for all major platforms instead.

But atm it looks like steam is supported so people happily start making their games, And when you finally have finished your game after months/years of work and gone through the greenlight process you'll then realize that steam wasn't really supported. And you can't add all the things that players expects from your game. Then you'll be really disappointed and regret choosing C2.

It's like buying a plane and start flying and everything is going just fine and you are super happy. And after a few hours of fun you want to land and then realize that the plane doesn't have landing gears installed and you crash and die :P

But thanks to MadSpys plugin it works fine. But it shouldn't be up to a person in the community to keep a feature alive that is advertised on the homepage when you first look at C2. There should be an official one.
B
55
S
24
G
13
Posts: 765
Reputation: 12,571

Post » Mon Oct 26, 2015 2:24 pm

shinkan wrote:"Without steam support = no serious game developers".

Are you for real?


Do you even know what Steam is?
He wants to publish his game with the biggest game vendor on the planet, and you question if he is real or not?
The biggest place on the PLANET to have your game listed, That is what steam is.

Scirra is really missing the ball with this one. (I have a feeling it is going to be a Construct 3 exclusive though. )

Meanwhile, On Unity developers site:
https://www.assetstore.unity3d.com/en/#!/content/2211

Game maker:
http://docs.yoyogames.com/source/dadios ... index.html

@MadSpy

I know C# a little bit, what do you need to make this plugin 100% your code?
If you want to sell it as a 3rd party package, then let me know, I might be able to help you.

Any developer that has PC , Linux , or Mac versions planned will probably buy a copy.

(Or move their serious projects to Unity like I did)
B
29
S
8
G
4
Posts: 767
Reputation: 5,985

Post » Mon Oct 26, 2015 2:44 pm

jojoe wrote:
shinkan wrote:"Without steam support = no serious game developers".

Are you for real?


Do you even know what Steam is?
He wants to publish his game with the biggest game vendor on the planet, and you question if he is real or not?
The biggest place on the PLANET to have your game listed, That is what steam is.


Are you for real too? Or maybe you just felt a big need to add some more nonsense to that specific quote I made.
ImageImageImageImage
B
157
S
66
G
42
Posts: 2,603
Reputation: 35,343

Post » Mon Oct 26, 2015 2:45 pm

@jojoe
Thanks for your proposal.
For the moment, I just need free time in order to work on it (and to test it)
As you can see in my previous post, I already have a good base to work. ;)
Image Image
B
25
S
14
G
136
Posts: 876
Reputation: 71,005

Post » Mon Oct 26, 2015 3:09 pm

shinkan wrote:
Are you for real too? Or maybe you just felt a big need to add some more nonsense to that specific quote I made.


Oh it was satire? Ok, I am sorry, my English is not that great. I did not know you where just saying non-sense to be funny,

@madSpy,

If you market it I hope you make lots of money :)

I will be your first customer! (please keep it under $200.00 though, I am on a budget)
B
29
S
8
G
4
Posts: 767
Reputation: 5,985

PreviousNext

Return to Construct 2 General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests