Experimental Greenworks plugin

Discussion and feedback on Construct 2

Post » Wed Aug 24, 2016 8:08 am

80bit wrote:@Anonnymitet

I will get steam overlay working no worries.

Ive been asking the devs of Steam4C2 about Mac & Linux support for a long while now, and never had a response other than 'working on it' so it's not a viable solution for me.


Aha, I see. Your game is for Mac as well. Didn't think of that. Steam4C2 works great for Windows and Linux though. I didn't bother releasing my game for Mac so that wasn't a problem for me.

But I hope that you'll get it working then. Best of luck! :D
Last edited by Anonnymitet on Wed Aug 24, 2016 9:12 am, edited 1 time in total.
B
58
S
24
G
14
Posts: 775
Reputation: 13,166

Post » Wed Aug 24, 2016 8:30 am

Thank you @Anonnymitet, I plan to launch my game on Steam also for Linux and Mac, so I hope that in the end everything be all right :D
B
138
S
26
G
21
Posts: 520
Reputation: 25,267

Post » Thu Aug 25, 2016 1:03 am

Ashley wrote:
Let me know how everything works out.


I think I linked everything correctly, SDK 136, node 0.15, (r233 of c2 64 bit steam).

I put the DLL into the package.nw zip, put a dummy steam_appid.txt in the directory with nw.exe. Steam is running in the background.

I get the following error:

c2runtime.js:384 Failed to initialise Greenworks: TypeErrormessage: "this.isSteamRunning is not a function"
B
31
S
7
G
1
Posts: 80
Reputation: 2,550

Post » Thu Aug 25, 2016 6:57 pm

has anyone got the 0.15 version to run on mac and linux?
B
47
S
22
G
65
Posts: 1,127
Reputation: 38,395

Post » Thu Aug 25, 2016 9:29 pm

Prominent wrote:has anyone got the 0.15 version to run on mac and linux?


I have, but the mac version is really finnicky. Sometimes you open it up and it works just fine, others the game is stuck with a red text when trying to load. :\
B
125
S
43
G
41
Posts: 849
Reputation: 28,260

Post » Fri Aug 26, 2016 4:28 pm

OK, got the overlay to inject, it shows FPS in the corner and the little popup to "press shift+tab" to open appears.

But shift + tab doesn't work automatically. Do I have to detect it and do something?

I tried binding a keypress to open "friends" and got the screen to appear. But I can't close the overlay.

There's an "on overlay deactivated"...

Please help.

UPDATE I got overlay working properly for windows!

I used sdk 136 / node 0.15
minify off
put steam dll in the package.nw file
put api text file in the directory with nw.exe

Needed to add the " --in-process-gpu" option to \Construct2\Construct2-Win64\exporters\html5\nwjs\package-win.json chromium-args line.

Now shift+tab works to bring up overlay and mouse works inside the overlay.

UPDATE 2 F12!

So F12 brings up the chrome debugging tools! Didn't know that! So if someone tries to take a screenshot they also get the debug tools.

Solution is to have an event (on key pressed) that captures F12 but don't do anything inside it. Make sure that event is in every layout.
Last edited by anubis666 on Sat Aug 27, 2016 1:14 am, edited 1 time in total.
B
31
S
7
G
1
Posts: 80
Reputation: 2,550

Post » Sat Aug 27, 2016 12:55 am

I tried sdk 136 / node 0.15
but it doesn't work. A prompt pops up saying It failed to load when I try to run 64bit build through steam.
I'm using windows Vista 64bit sp2

I did everything as was outlined, but doesn't seem to work. Doesn't work for 32bit, but the game does run through steam. The 64bit runs if I don't use steam. I even tried that in-process-gpu thing, but didn't help.
B
47
S
22
G
65
Posts: 1,127
Reputation: 38,395

Post » Sat Aug 27, 2016 1:12 am

@Prominent

Hummm...

Did you make sure to put steam_api.dll in the package.nw zip? And steam_api64.dll in the 64 bit build?

The steam_appid.txt doesn't go in the zip (I made that mistake), it goes in the directory with nw.exe (also must keep your exe named nw.exe).

Don't use minify when you build.

Without seeing your files, not sure I have any other suggestions.
B
31
S
7
G
1
Posts: 80
Reputation: 2,550

Post » Sat Aug 27, 2016 1:54 am

@anubis666 , yes, I did all that.
I tried the 32bit build, and it runs through steam, but no steam overlay.
64bit build just crashes immediately if run through steam.

edit:turns out it happens without greenworks.. so my issue isn't related to this plugin.
Last edited by Prominent on Wed Aug 31, 2016 6:53 am, edited 1 time in total.
B
47
S
22
G
65
Posts: 1,127
Reputation: 38,395

Post » Sun Aug 28, 2016 5:13 am

I've tried multiple times but keep getting a blackscreen, even when uploaded to Steam, anyone know why?

As soon as the exe opens it's just a blackscreen.

Here are things I've done:

  • Construct 233
  • NJWS 0.15
  • Placed the Greenworks plugin (greenworks-0.15.0.c2addon) inside my project.
  • Exported without minify (and tried with)
  • I use the 32bit build
  • created a file called steam_appid.txt in the directory with the app ID
  • placed a file called steam_api.dll inside the package.zip then renamed it to package.nw
  • The exe file is still called nw.exe
  • I open the exe in my folder and then try uploading to steam but it just gives blackscreen
B
151
S
75
G
20
Posts: 1,793
Reputation: 22,749

PreviousNext

Return to Construct 2 General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests