Exported node webkit errors

Discussion and feedback on Construct 2

Post » Sat Oct 26, 2013 12:45 am

So I just recently sent our publisher a build of our game, and after telling me it failed to load, I didn't know what was going on. I checked the build on my end and it plays fine.



He sent me this in an email. He is native Japanese, so I don't know if it's a region thing or what, but I don't even know what to ask him to clarify for me if it has anything to do with the computer he's playing it on, which shouldn't be an issue in the first place as long as it's Windows XP or above. All help is appreciated. Thanks guys.
rjcook19852013-10-26 00:45:39
B
5
S
1
Posts: 15
Reputation: 501

Post » Sat Oct 26, 2013 1:01 am

@rjcook1985

it looks like exported file is not signed. It should be because signed file is more trusty (no virus attached) for Windows.

I guess @Ashley know more on this topic
B
18
S
7
G
1
Posts: 783
Reputation: 4,247

Post » Sat Oct 26, 2013 2:28 am

Thank you for the quick reply szymek. I'm not sure how to go about the process of signing it, but I'll look into it. Hopefully I can get more information about this from the forums or from @Ashley.

Thanks again!
B
5
S
1
Posts: 15
Reputation: 501

Post » Thu Oct 31, 2013 8:54 am

I'm pretty sure it isn't a region issue, I've sent my game for a japanese friend to try it out and it worked just fine.
B
123
S
43
G
41
Posts: 847
Reputation: 28,206

Post » Thu Oct 31, 2013 2:00 pm

It might be the ordinary UAC prompt that Windows shows when running a downloaded EXE. In English it reads something like "Do you want to run the following program from an unknown publisher?" Usually you just click 'yes' and it runs. If it's signed, it shows a message mentioning the publisher. The Construct 2 installer is digitally signed and you can see the message asks if you want to run the file published by Scirra Ltd and the warning dialog looks less severe (they use a different icon IIRC).

Digitally signing any executables you publish is a very, very good idea. You should definitely do it if it is a commercial game. It's out of the scope of Construct 2 though - you'll need to purchase a code signing certificate and look at Microsoft's documentation on the subject.
Scirra Founder
B
395
S
233
G
88
Posts: 24,376
Reputation: 193,842


Return to Construct 2 General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: BackendFreak, Huemerson, Yahoo [Bot] and 3 guests