Extra Parameters for the Text Object?

New releases and general discussions.

Post » Sat Oct 30, 2010 6:20 pm

Some extra features would be nice.

Drop Shadow, Outline, Alias/AntiAlias (individual settings). Some the options Photoshop has for it standard text tool.
B
11
S
3
G
8
Posts: 473
Reputation: 4,569

Post » Sat Oct 30, 2010 6:46 pm

You can apply FX to text, and there's always the poor mans drop shadow for text, a duplicate of the text offset and with less opacity.
Image Image
B
161
S
48
G
89
Posts: 7,347
Reputation: 66,249

Post » Sat Oct 30, 2010 8:52 pm

The current Outline it white and looks messed up when the thickness is too high.


His Drop Shadow doesn't let you adjust the size of the drop shadow.
B
11
S
3
G
8
Posts: 473
Reputation: 4,569

Post » Sat Oct 30, 2010 9:46 pm

There's an fx that does colored outlines, and you can change its width.
[url:1mefpiux]http://www.scirra.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=7&t=4311&start=0[/url:1mefpiux]

Here's a cap that shows how you can apply the drop shadow object to a canvas.
It also shows what I mean about using another text object.
Just have to get the z order right.

[url:1mefpiux]http://dl.dropbox.com/u/666516/dropshadowtext.cap[/url:1mefpiux]
Image Image
B
161
S
48
G
89
Posts: 7,347
Reputation: 66,249

Post » Sun Oct 31, 2010 6:52 am

its not "messed up", thats just the way it works, 4 offset copies of the main object

if you want thick outlines without that "multiple copies" look through an effect, your only way around it is going to be adding multiple outline effects with a low thickness one after the other.
B
52
S
7
G
6
Posts: 1,945
Reputation: 7,610

Post » Tue Nov 02, 2010 2:45 am

What about gradient for text?
B
11
S
3
G
8
Posts: 473
Reputation: 4,569

Post » Tue Nov 02, 2010 3:29 am

Ok not all fx will work on text.
Mask fx shows over the whole text box, and gets kind of crazy at runtime.
Perhaps the sprite font, or just prerender something.
Image Image
B
161
S
48
G
89
Posts: 7,347
Reputation: 66,249

Post » Tue Nov 02, 2010 4:16 am

I'd use sprite font, but you can't doing thing with it like, like move it around using it's X/Y positions.
B
11
S
3
G
8
Posts: 473
Reputation: 4,569

Post » Tue Nov 02, 2010 5:33 am

I would just go for prerendered. You can go hog wild on the visual, and it still probably wont take up as much memory as an fx.
Image Image
B
161
S
48
G
89
Posts: 7,347
Reputation: 66,249

Post » Tue Nov 02, 2010 6:03 am

Prerendered? As in do them in photoshop or something?
B
11
S
3
G
8
Posts: 473
Reputation: 4,569

Next

Return to Construct Classic Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests