Failed to load .capx (first file locate)

Discussion and feedback on Construct 2

Post » Fri Jan 25, 2013 7:05 am

Failed to load .capx
Unable to locate first file in archive C:/path/to/file.capx

I uploaded file (single .capx project) to my webserver and tried to download it just now to continue working on the project at work, but got this error.

I have done this (FTP upload file, download it to another computer and edit game) past few days without problem, could this be just corrupt file download?

1) I had earlier .capx and project folder with same name (making sub directories like layouts, animations etc.). Deleted them both.

2) Tried to rename file.

3) Other files are working (samples I downloaded from same server).CoffeeOD2013-01-25 07:20:10
B
7
S
1
Posts: 51
Reputation: 1,087

Post » Fri Jan 25, 2013 7:38 am

Maybe the FTP program you're using corrupted the file somehow? I use dropbox to store my games and I'm always able to open them anywhere I am.

You can use MD5 to compare between the working file and the corrupted one and see if it's really corrupted.

http://maketecheasier.com/how-to-check-md5-hash/2008/05/06
B
106
S
35
G
36
Posts: 794
Reputation: 24,707

Post » Fri Jan 25, 2013 12:41 pm

The file is probably corrupt. .capx files are just .zip files containing a folder project, so see if you can open it as a zip if you rename it. If not the file is corrupt.
Scirra Founder
B
359
S
214
G
72
Posts: 22,946
Reputation: 178,528

Post » Fri Jan 25, 2013 5:23 pm

Problem "solved", file was corrupt and all the work I did yesterday is gone. I did save yesterday before going to sleep, today when I finally got back to home and game is missing two layouts, files. code changes and everything else related to yesterday work.CoffeeOD2013-01-25 17:26:58
B
7
S
1
Posts: 51
Reputation: 1,087

Post » Fri Jan 25, 2013 6:02 pm

Do you keep backups ?
If so, rename the file to .capx and see if those aren't corrupted.
New to Construct ? Where to start

Image Image
Image Image

Please attach a capx to any help request or bug report !
Moderator
B
247
S
85
G
40
Posts: 6,998
Reputation: 57,791

Post » Fri Mar 15, 2013 3:56 pm

i have this same problem, capx and backup dont want to load, i try unzip capx. file with 7zip no positive result
B
93
S
19
G
34
Posts: 1,840
Reputation: 27,963

Post » Fri Mar 15, 2013 7:34 pm

Me too.

Happenned using Dropbox. Fortunately I had backups.
B
18
S
5
G
4
Posts: 568
Reputation: 5,079

Post » Fri Mar 15, 2013 7:36 pm

Ashley, can we add to Wishlist: "Auto save every X minutes"?

thanks
B
18
S
5
G
4
Posts: 568
Reputation: 5,079


Return to Construct 2 General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Mirlas, wrighthill and 14 guests