Failing already in first tutorial

Discussion and feedback on Construct 2

Post » Tue Mar 20, 2012 7:25 pm

Hey there,

I feel like a total idiot. I have recently purchased Construct 2 and started with the beginners tutorial. I then came to the first real thing to do - inserting a background - and this already didn't work. ????

I followed the steps exactly as described in the beginners tutorial but I don't see the background image only a blue - slightly transparent - frame which seems to represent the tiled background object. I have inserted it in the texture editor and there I can see it. Then I clicked the red x to close the texture editor and see just this blue frame / square??

Any idea where I am failing?
B
5
Posts: 15
Reputation: 485

Post » Tue Mar 20, 2012 7:32 pm

- Save this image to your local drive http://www.scirra.com/images/articles/bg.png

- Double Click that blue transparent thing, it will open "Texture editor"

- In the Texture Editor, click on that "Load Image from file" icon, on the top bar

- Load the image you downloaded earlier in 1st step, it will replace the blue tranparent thing with the real image

I hope that works
B
34
S
13
G
8
Posts: 134
Reputation: 8,118

Post » Tue Mar 20, 2012 7:32 pm

What is the image format you're trying to import?

Could you post a screenshot?

The most reliable format is PNG format.
Image
B
27
S
9
G
5
Posts: 487
Reputation: 11,939

Post » Tue Mar 20, 2012 7:44 pm

@potato: exactly what I did several times
@Johnny: it's the png provided in the tutorial

in preview (when I click the green play button) it works but not in the engine itself...?

btw: thanks for your lightning fast responses.
B
5
Posts: 15
Reputation: 485

Post » Tue Mar 20, 2012 7:53 pm

Did you accidentally hiding the layer by any chance ?

If not try to restart your computer & update graphic driver maybe,
because that basic tutorial should work fine.
B
34
S
13
G
8
Posts: 134
Reputation: 8,118

Post » Tue Mar 20, 2012 8:21 pm

If you save your file as a single .capx file and upload it to dropbox, we could have a look at your file and see if the problem is with your computer/construct or if it's something you've accidentally edited in the project.
B
27
S
8
G
8
Posts: 903
Reputation: 8,452

Post » Tue Mar 20, 2012 8:30 pm

ok, first I'll try the graphics driver approach, if that doesn't work, Ill upload it to dropbox.

The layer seems not to be hidden btw...
B
5
Posts: 15
Reputation: 485

Post » Tue Mar 20, 2012 8:41 pm

next issue (this gets annoying) ... how to share via dropbox if I have no one to put into the collaborator field in dropbox?
B
5
Posts: 15
Reputation: 485

Post » Tue Mar 20, 2012 8:56 pm

okay, cannot upload to dropbox and cannot fix the issue, graphic driver is latest...

Somehow I expected a tool working a little better. Honestly, I'm disappointed. Forum responses have been really really fast but not getting the very first thing running in the first attempt on the first tutorial opening the very first time makes me a little bit nervous about this software's capabilities.
B
5
Posts: 15
Reputation: 485

Post » Tue Mar 20, 2012 9:07 pm

Put your file in the Public folder in dropbox, right click the file and select "copy public link", then post the link here. Personally, I've never had any issues with C2, and I doubt the problem is because of a bug.

(And if it is, you might just have to downgrade to a stable version)Nimtrix2012-03-20 21:17:48
B
27
S
8
G
8
Posts: 903
Reputation: 8,452

Next

Return to Construct 2 General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests