Fake 3D GTA engine

Discussion and feedback on Construct 2

Post » Tue Jul 12, 2016 10:25 am

Looks great, nice work. I'd be interested in this template too if you make it.
B
137
S
33
G
17
Posts: 1,560
Reputation: 20,797

Post » Tue Jul 12, 2016 12:26 pm

The perspective is wrong :) Should be opposite - building top bigger than it's base.
B
42
S
14
G
6
Posts: 154
Reputation: 5,581

Post » Tue Jul 12, 2016 10:48 pm

@rozpstelnik Yeah, I know. Actually, the top and the base are the exact same size. You can actually have the top a different size than the bottom(which you can choose via instance variables), but that would require that the walls have a different texture (which you can also choose via instance variables) to mathc with the different size (meaning, no longer have square/rectangle textures, but ones having the shape of a trapeze. I tried it, it works just fine, but I'm too lazy to replace it.
My addons:
[PLUGIN]Value Monitor
[PLUGIN] Text Alignement
[BEHAVIOR]Timescale Ratio
[BEHAVIOR]Polar Coordinates
[PLUGIN]Action Sequence
[BEHAVIOR]Action Sequence
[BEHAVIOR]Instance Variable Control
B
36
S
7
G
2
Posts: 230
Reputation: 3,517

Post » Sat Jul 23, 2016 6:50 pm

When done this game and its really made with Q3D plugin, please suggest to be listed here:
viewtopic.php?f=183&t=179570
Liked something I say?
Tip. My Bitcoin address: 1PLaeKmXQ8vEdGGJqXMq3KyB8hxeddxeSv
B
28
S
9
G
4
Posts: 359
Reputation: 4,246

Post » Sat Jul 23, 2016 10:39 pm

I'm wondering what's the cpuutil on that example. I don't really know why, it doesn't look that smooth, and also perspective is kind of wrong.
B
23
S
5
G
5
Posts: 149
Reputation: 3,779

Post » Sun Jul 24, 2016 11:34 am

@DaniellMesquita Well, it was not made using Q3D ^^

@Rexu Well, I find it pretty smooth.
Here is a screenshot with CPU utilisation
http://image.noelshack.com/fichiers/201 ... -titre.png
For The perspective, I already know it's kinda wrong, but I haven't figured out how to fix it
My addons:
[PLUGIN]Value Monitor
[PLUGIN] Text Alignement
[BEHAVIOR]Timescale Ratio
[BEHAVIOR]Polar Coordinates
[PLUGIN]Action Sequence
[BEHAVIOR]Action Sequence
[BEHAVIOR]Instance Variable Control
B
36
S
7
G
2
Posts: 230
Reputation: 3,517

Post » Mon Jul 25, 2016 11:06 pm

Nice work. I've suggested something like this in the past: [Suggestion] Simple 3D objects
R0J0hound even made a demo using events, so is not impossible, but it needs some work to be coded as an actual plugin.
B
49
S
15
G
6
Posts: 536
Reputation: 7,199

Post » Tue Jul 26, 2016 5:44 pm

@TGeorgeMihai Oh, yeah, that's pretty close to what I wanted to do in the first place. Actually, my first goal was to make a puzzle game where you would control a cube, and would have to go through levels, with the ability to jump, push, move and activate buttons. But really early in dev I remembered a GTA exemple for Clickteam Fusion 2.5 I saw a while ago, and it pushed me in that direction.
My addons:
[PLUGIN]Value Monitor
[PLUGIN] Text Alignement
[BEHAVIOR]Timescale Ratio
[BEHAVIOR]Polar Coordinates
[PLUGIN]Action Sequence
[BEHAVIOR]Action Sequence
[BEHAVIOR]Instance Variable Control
B
36
S
7
G
2
Posts: 230
Reputation: 3,517

Post » Sat Jul 30, 2016 10:07 pm

Here is a nice 2.5D effect: effect-2-5d-platformer_t168932
B
49
S
15
G
6
Posts: 536
Reputation: 7,199

Post » Mon Aug 01, 2016 10:29 pm

Yeah, I saw it. However, the effect is a bit hard to use (At least, I couldn't get it to work ^^)
My addons:
[PLUGIN]Value Monitor
[PLUGIN] Text Alignement
[BEHAVIOR]Timescale Ratio
[BEHAVIOR]Polar Coordinates
[PLUGIN]Action Sequence
[BEHAVIOR]Action Sequence
[BEHAVIOR]Instance Variable Control
B
36
S
7
G
2
Posts: 230
Reputation: 3,517

PreviousNext

Return to Construct 2 General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests