Families Bug

Bugs will be moved here once resolved.

Post » Mon Jun 13, 2016 11:44 pm

Problem Description
I have 2 different families. Both holds the same objects. When i try to pick objects in family 1 by UID, it works great. When i try to pick objects by UID from family 2 it does not work.

Attach a Capx
[urlhttps://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/20560446/Scirra/family_error.capx[/url]

Description of Capx
Some examples of UID picking in families that does not work.

Steps to Reproduce Bug
  • Create 2 sprites
  • Create 2 families
  • add both sprites to both families.
  • try pick by UID from family 2, does not work.

    Observed Result
    Not picking correctly.

    Expected Result
    Expected to select the correct object with the correct UID.

    Affected Browsers
    • Chrome: (YES/NO) Yes
    • FireFox: (YES/NO) Don't know
    • Internet Explorer: (YES/NO) Yes
    • Edge: (YES/NO) Yes

Operating System and Service Pack
Win 10.

Construct 2 Version ID
Construct 2 beta r229
Follow my progress on Twitter
or in this thread Archer Devlog
B
40
S
17
G
17
Posts: 989
Reputation: 12,650

Post » Tue Jun 14, 2016 3:42 am

In events 5 and 9 you are picking from group2 but the action that sets opacity is for group1. I'm guessing you meant to have the action apply to group2 not group1.
B
92
S
32
G
109
Posts: 5,291
Reputation: 70,993

Post » Tue Jun 14, 2016 8:30 am

R0J0hound wrote:In events 5 and 9 you are picking from group2 but the action that sets opacity is for group1. I'm guessing you meant to have the action apply to group2 not group1.


I was thinking of using Group 1 for picking objects by UID, Since UID's are same no matter what group the objects are in I wanted to apply changes to objects in Group 2 based on the UID's picked from Group 1? Or this maybe not possible by design? Maybe the only way is to load all the picked objects UID's in group 1 to an Array? and then pick UID's from the array, to pick objects from Group 2? Just seemed very inefficient, and cumbersome to do it that way.
Follow my progress on Twitter
or in this thread Archer Devlog
B
40
S
17
G
17
Posts: 989
Reputation: 12,650

Post » Tue Jun 14, 2016 1:17 pm

Just add Group1.Pick_by_UID(Group2.UID)
ImageImageImage
B
71
S
22
G
241
Posts: 3,734
Reputation: 134,494

Post » Mon Jun 20, 2016 3:09 pm

Families maintain different picked instances, by design. If you pick from one family and have actions for a different family, the actions will still apply to all instances.
Scirra Founder
B
397
S
236
G
88
Posts: 24,423
Reputation: 194,560

Post » Mon Jun 20, 2016 5:30 pm

@Ashley, Thanks I didn't get that at first, so you can close the bug.
Follow my progress on Twitter
or in this thread Archer Devlog
B
40
S
17
G
17
Posts: 989
Reputation: 12,650


Return to Closed bugs

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests