Family Issue

Bugs will be moved here once resolved.

Post » Mon Jul 16, 2012 8:14 pm

Well my father was not very nice. My mother worked all of the time and my uncle drinks water like it is going out of style...

Just kidding...

R99 ---- >
[/IMG]



Hours ago everything was working fine. Then I did something in the game that required a Family Variable and it crashed.

Now if you look at the items in the family, you will see that temp_tower does not have any family vars or behaviors.

temp_castle does. It is the same in he family that I have for enemies..
the second item in those two families does not seem to inherit the family variables that it should.


I will upload my file as well.


Thanks!sparkdad2012-07-16 20:15:53
B
12
S
1
G
1
Posts: 50
Reputation: 1,228

Post » Mon Jul 16, 2012 8:33 pm

UPDATE:

I loaded a stable version of my project from 5am and the families are correct.

What could I have done to get this to break?

I did change the name of the tower.

Any thoughts?
B
12
S
1
G
1
Posts: 50
Reputation: 1,228

Post » Mon Jul 16, 2012 9:59 pm

It looks like there are no instances of the temp_tower object. You need at least one instance on a layout somewhere for it to have any properties.

The crash sounds odd though - I'd definitely like to fix that. However we need a .capx project and reliable steps to reproduce the problem, as described in how to report bugs. Any chance of that?
Scirra Founder
B
359
S
214
G
72
Posts: 22,946
Reputation: 178,468

Post » Tue Jul 17, 2012 3:38 am

SOLVED - I added the sprites to a hidden layer and the problem was solved!

The crash was caused because the routine required a instance variable and because it was not there it was crashing!

Thank you for helping again Ashley.

I love construct!
B
12
S
1
G
1
Posts: 50
Reputation: 1,228

Post » Tue Jul 17, 2012 2:56 pm

@sparkdad - no! Not solved! Construct 2 should never crash, even if you make a mistake - please tell me more about the crash so we can fix it! :)
Scirra Founder
B
359
S
214
G
72
Posts: 22,946
Reputation: 178,468

Post » Tue Jul 17, 2012 4:05 pm

Ashley,

OK. Here is the link.

https://docs.google.com/open?id=0B5puA55FudSeS1JvZGhWeXIycjQ

I think we might have our wires crossed.

CONSTRUCT 2 is not crashing the game is crashing.

If you will go to the file above.

Start project preview.

Click on the little Castle Icon on the lower left. A rotating gear will pop up. Pick a spot on the ground to build it and click.

It will create a little gold upside down U. This means that the building is "under-construction". Once the building is done the U spawns the actual building.

If you do the same with the tower icon on the bottom left you it will all work fine until the building is done and the U tries to spawn the tower. The instance variables are not filled so it is looking for something that is not there.

If you need more information feel free to email me at dad@sparkdad.com

Thanks for all of your help!
B
12
S
1
G
1
Posts: 50
Reputation: 1,228


Return to Closed bugs

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests