Fancy Benchmark

Discussion and feedback on Construct 2

Post » Wed Mar 04, 2015 1:33 pm

Katala wrote:Also does anyone know if there is an easy way to switch between integrated GPU and dedicated card. I have Intel Core i5 3570K (Ivy Bridge) CPU and it has integrated Intel HD 4000 that would be nice for testing.


You should be able to do this with your graphics driver control panel. It depends on your computer and also on what kind of dedicated card you have.
B
108
S
28
G
15
Posts: 1,202
Reputation: 17,582

Post » Wed Mar 04, 2015 1:39 pm

Fancy indeed! :D
ImageImageImageImage
B
141
S
58
G
37
Posts: 2,549
Reputation: 31,736

Post » Wed Mar 04, 2015 2:22 pm

@Katala , Nice! I get solid 60 on all browsers and around 16-18 fps on the Samsung Galaxy S2. On the phone the CPU is around 45% when idle and rises up to 60% when shooting the enemy ships.
composer - multimedia artist
www.eli0s.com/en/
B
55
S
22
G
3
Posts: 1,128
Reputation: 8,247

Post » Wed Mar 04, 2015 4:17 pm

@eli0s

Here is a Fancy Benchmark I put together in a day or so. I wanted to test the recent improvements in jerkiness on both C2 and on the browsers. It's a bit heavy with many sprites.


Mildly interesting find:

On a high end rig (linux xeon workstation with a quadro K-Series Graphics card by nvidia) with latest drivers under chromium 40 (that's basically chrome, just the open source build of it) I get a fixed 30fps frame rate at startup. If you go fullscreen it goes up to 60fps and then stays there when I switch the browser back to windowed mode. The 30 fps also does not look glitchy but perfectly in sync. Is there anything special you did to lock at 30fps or is that just a random thing happening?
In the past Ashley tried to implement a regular 30fps mode, but this failed somehow for a reason I have alrady forgotten and it was thrown out shortly after.
B
66
S
25
G
31
Posts: 448
Reputation: 18,706

Post » Wed Mar 04, 2015 8:08 pm

@Eisenhans , I have nothing to do with the thing you are describing. You can check the capx your self and see everything under the hood. The fact is that for some reason full-screen is more stable. Also, the fluidity on the lower frame rates is perhaps related to the optimizations that Ashley did on the r198 build.

When you say that it gets fixed at 30 fps at start up, you mean that if you leave it running forever, it will still stay at 30 fps and never go up? On my system, each time I run a preview there is a few second period (around 10-15) that there is great inconsistency in the frame rate, after that time period the game catches up and stays more or less stable. Especially with this latest beta build.
composer - multimedia artist
www.eli0s.com/en/
B
55
S
22
G
3
Posts: 1,128
Reputation: 8,247

Post » Wed Mar 04, 2015 8:15 pm

I believe pre 42 builds of Chrome had this fps rounding weirdness. It would sort of luck onto a fps and just stay there.
B
19
S
6
G
6
Posts: 1,101
Reputation: 5,646

Post » Wed Mar 04, 2015 8:40 pm

@eli0s
When you say that it gets fixed at 30 fps at start up, you mean that if you leave it running forever, it will still stay at 30 fps and never go up?


Yep. Never had seen that before so it made me curious. I typically have shaky fps for the first few seconds on my own products, after that it settles at or around 60.

@Somebody
I believe pre 42 builds of Chrome had this fps rounding weirdness. It would sort of luck onto a fps and just stay there.


Hm. Sounds just like it.
I wonder why I've never seen it before.
B
66
S
25
G
31
Posts: 448
Reputation: 18,706

Post » Thu Mar 05, 2015 7:48 pm

17 fps 0.8 cpu surface pro fire fox
My game Petrolhead Tactics is now on Steam Greenlight. I could not have done this without C2 ? Please rate, if you like!

Steam client already open: petrolheadtactics.com/steam
Web: petrolheadtactics.com/greenlight
B
20
S
4
G
4
Posts: 132
Reputation: 4,130

Post » Thu Mar 05, 2015 9:27 pm

@Monumental , I 'd expect more from surface pro... Which version of the tablet do you own?
composer - multimedia artist
www.eli0s.com/en/
B
55
S
22
G
3
Posts: 1,128
Reputation: 8,247

Post » Fri Mar 06, 2015 1:59 pm

@eli0s I have the first one. Must be Intel graphics card tho. I get the same result on my rig that has the same Intel 4600 integrated HD graphics card. Sorry to say these are the second most common graphics card among steam players according to there user stat page.
My game Petrolhead Tactics is now on Steam Greenlight. I could not have done this without C2 ? Please rate, if you like!

Steam client already open: petrolheadtactics.com/steam
Web: petrolheadtactics.com/greenlight
B
20
S
4
G
4
Posts: 132
Reputation: 4,130

PreviousNext

Return to Construct 2 General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: takamoto and 9 guests