[Feature Request] It's Time To Polish NW.js Exporting

0 favourites
From the Asset Store
It's here!
$4.95 USD
Creepy and nasty horror track. It's terrifying from the beginning till the end. Goosebumps guaranteed
  • Quick Introduction:

Some of you might already know me as the annoying "critical" guy from my previous complaints about some of C2's mechanics.

The Reason Behind This Post:

I believe that the majority of C2 developers that export their games to desktop already know

or currently have to deal with the following problem: Extremely long exporting times.

Especially users with an AMD CPU seem to suffer from this issue, based on comparisons on my end.

Reproduction + Cause Of The Problem:

From my previous tests with exporting a fairly large game with NWjs, I could clearly identify the "packaging" as

the cause for the long exporting times.

Possible Solution:

I'm not an expert and just have some minor background information about the whole exporting process.

However my guess would be that packaging for each platform, might not be the best method to export NWjs games.

Based on this conclusion my suggestion would be to "polish" the exporting window and add additional options

to separately export your project. (Windows [32/64 bit] | Linux [32/64 bit] | OSX [64 bit])

Some Last Words:

We all know that you are a busy man Ashley and we surely appreciate that you didn't abandon C2 and still provide us

with monthly maintenance updates. If there are any problems that are stopping you from adding this suggestion,

feel free to inform us about them. I hope you understand that quickly exporting with NWjs is an important feature

for the most of us because plugins such as Greenworks or MadSpy 's Steam4C2, only fully function that way.

• The package.nw files are the same in each export folder and do not take up any extra resource to be compiled (beyond the small time taken to copy/paste the NWjs folders from the NWjsForC2 folder...).