Feature todo-list

New releases and general discussions.

Post » Wed May 14, 2008 2:21 am

[quote="Drew Carey":1frbw1op][quote="Glamthaus":1frbw1op][quote:1frbw1op]- Sorted Z order depending on Y position[/quote:1frbw1op]
I would like to request Z sorting based upon a variable, not just Y position.[/quote:1frbw1op]
Perhaps you mean "Sort by value"
So you could perhaps say "Sort Z by ".X", descending" (of course, descending/ascending would basically mean higher value means lower Z-order or higher order).[/quote:1frbw1op]
Excuse the terminology in my original post. That is exactly what I mean.
B
2
S
2
G
5
Posts: 108
Reputation: 1,866

Post » Fri May 16, 2008 4:27 pm

The Image Manipulator object should have values for Red, Green, Blue, and Alpha at variable X and Y values on the image. Possibly also be able to set these values via the object.
In this way I could have Worldlike load the arrays from .pngs :)
B
3
S
2
G
4
Posts: 130
Reputation: 1,735

Post » Tue May 20, 2008 11:25 am

[quote="Drew Carey":309vlq2a]The Image Manipulator object should have values for Red, Green, Blue, and Alpha at variable X and Y values on the image. Possibly also be able to set these values via the object.
In this way I could have Worldlike load the arrays from .pngs :)[/quote:309vlq2a]

I can deffinatly see why that would be useful!
B
3
S
2
G
5
Posts: 301
Reputation: 2,302

Post » Fri Jun 06, 2008 7:30 am

I think the ability to load animated GIFs in the animation editor would be a huge boon. It would simplify the importing of animations a thouasand fold. Any plans for this? :)
Moderator
B
98
S
37
G
19
Posts: 1,584
Reputation: 17,817

Post » Tue Jun 24, 2008 12:11 am

It would be nice if there was some kind of "allow vertical walk" option in the "Platform" behavior, or simply such new behavior that you can apply with a checkbox on the "Tiled Background" you want to walk on. Of course, it would be set to disabled as default, but would be good if you could set the walking plane height in properties for the sprite. In other words, set the bottom of the walk area and scale or set the height ceiling to where the sprite can't walk above. This behavior would mean 8 directional movement in between the height area selected with the ability to still jump above it like platform is now. This or something equivalent to this is ideal for faking Z movement with the platformer behavior on a vertically fixed play area. This can be sort of accomplished now (inefficiently) with detectors and "8 Direction" behavior, but causes an already reported bug that crashes when jumping while moving up. There are a bit of things planned for future, but they are not going to happen until this is fixed.

Also, while it's not a priority, some improvements in the image editor would be nice. Make it as good as Paint should be efficient. Maybe it's just me, but the insert text icon doesn't work, but it looks like it's a planned feature or something (could it be that it can, I just haven't set up the fonts?) I really wouldn't need to use Paint Shop Pro 7 if it wasn't for this missing feature, but it looks like it's a future feature.. For fun you could check out these programs if you need ideas: Wood Woodshop (<- best 2D texture program I've tried using so far haven't used it much though.), PixelToolbox (decent little tool for making some quick tile textures or small pixel editing. Again, haven't used it much.) Inkscape (Awesome, yet simple toolset, doesn't lag my slow computer either.). As an honorable mention, GraphicsGale looks great for animations.

Edit: the program is called Wood WorkShop, excuse me.

Cheers,
manontherun
B
2
S
2
G
4
Posts: 259
Reputation: 1,968

Post » Tue Jun 24, 2008 8:33 am

Is it possible to make it so that you can drag events on top of groups to make them go into it?
B
134
S
65
G
16
Posts: 1,766
Reputation: 19,190

Post » Thu Jun 26, 2008 4:45 am

An All-Inclusive Animations Editor. That way, people won't have to search Constructs entire interface to figure out how to change things like animation frame rate.

Also, maybe the animation speed system could be altered slightly so that you can have one frame of an animation show at a different rate than the other frames ... basically a different speed for each frame, instead of just one speed for the whole animation. Or a frame delay, if you want to do it that way.

I'm extremely concerned with the Graphics/Animations interfaces because that's where most of the time is spent. A well-designed built-in graphics editor can save alot of time and keep us from having to use an outside paint program and importing the graphics.

I've noticed that there is a rectangle outline tool and an oval outline tool, but Where is the Filled Rectangle tool ? ... and the Filled Oval ? .. they are just like the outline tools but make it filled in.

I use the filled Rectangle tool ALOT in The Games Factory and quite a bit in GraphicsGale too.
But I Rarely ever use the Rectangle Outline and the Oval Outline tools. The Filled versions are good for erasing, shaping, and covering over. The Outlines don't Cover over and are useless for erasing large sections with the transparent color, and add extra fill steps if used for shaping.
So I can't stress enough how much the Filled Rectangle tool is needed.

I also noticed that you've gone with the Eraser method instead of the simpler more efficient and much quicker method of erasing by drawing with the transparent color. If some people like the eraser fine, but it would be nice if you would include the Erase by Transparency method as well.
And I know that has to be an extremely simple fix, since the flood fill tool can erase with transparency already. Yet for some peculiar reason, the pencil and brush tools won't erase by use of the transparent color. Please please fix this. It really does save alot of development time to not have to switch back and forth to the eraser all the time. I erase as frequently as I draw.

And if you really want to make things nice .. the color picking system would be better if instead of using the switch color by clicking on button and use an annoying color picker method .. instead of that ... just make the right click of the mouse pick the color and do away with the color switch button, because it is much faster just to right click on the colors you are using. I flip back and forth from the colors I need and transparency much quicker with that method. The button switch color thing even takes longer for black and white graphics, because you have to click that tiny button to flip the colors. Or if people like the color flip method, keep it but use the right click method too, making the right click a color picker for the main color in use of the switch boxes.

Thank You for creating this awesome program Ashley ... and thanks for reading and hopefully implementing the things that I have mentioned here. :)
B
2
G
4
Posts: 17
Reputation: 1,084

Post » Thu Jun 26, 2008 8:32 am

[quote="MBK":2dyt04du]An All-Inclusive Animations Editor. That way, people won't have to search Constructs entire interface to figure out how to change things like animation frame rate.[/quote:2dyt04du]

Personally I think the Animator fits in with the rest of the UI; you click an animation, you see its properties. Maybe there should just be more tutorials.

[quote="MBK":2dyt04du]Also, maybe the animation speed system could be altered slightly so that you can have one frame of an animation show at a different rate than the other frames ... basically a different speed for each frame, instead of just one speed for the whole animation. Or a frame delay, if you want to do it that way.[/quote:2dyt04du]

Click a frame, then change its speed. It's not a delay, but allows for slower frames.

[quote="MBK":2dyt04du]I've noticed that there is a rectangle outline tool and an oval outline tool, but Where is the Filled Rectangle tool ? ... and the Filled Oval ? .. they are just like the outline tools but make it filled in.[/quote:2dyt04du]

Click Rectangle, then see the styles at the top.

[quote="MBK":2dyt04du]I also noticed that you've gone with the Eraser method instead of the simpler more efficient and much quicker method of erasing by drawing with the transparent color. If some people like the eraser fine, but it would be nice if you would include the Erase by Transparency method as well.
And I know that has to be an extremely simple fix, since the flood fill tool can erase with transparency already. Yet for some peculiar reason, the pencil and brush tools won't erase by use of the transparent color. Please please fix this. It really does save alot of development time to not have to switch back and forth to the eraser all the time. I erase as frequently as I draw.[/quote:2dyt04du]

I agree with this :).
B
3
S
2
G
5
Posts: 1,777
Reputation: 5,529

Post » Sat Jun 28, 2008 3:46 am

While you're using the pencil, would be useful if you could hold a button and it would turn into the colour picker (so you can choose a colour quickly) then when you let go of the button it would turn back to the pencil.
B
134
S
65
G
16
Posts: 1,766
Reputation: 19,190

Post » Sat Jun 28, 2008 3:59 am

Would be nice if you could use the system object to not only 'convert value to string' but to 'convert string to value' as well.
B
134
S
65
G
16
Posts: 1,766
Reputation: 19,190

PreviousNext

Return to Construct Classic Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest