Few weird problems/bugs

Get help using Construct 2

Post » Sun Oct 20, 2013 5:03 pm

We have to make our own game for school with Construct 2, and I'm making a point&click adventure. But I've encountered some weird bugs..
My teacher neither knows how to fix these bugs..

1: When I enter a layout, I've made my character really walks from the side into the window, but in some levels when my character enters a new layout, it doesn't walk into the window but gets stuck somewhere outside the window.
BUT when I go back to the previous layout and try a second time, then it does work.
(I've tried to set the 'Cell Size' of my character lower, it works but then it gets stuck easily in a solid.)
(This happens when going from layout 2 to 3 and some others)
(this problem begun when I'd put solids around the whole window so it couldn't walk around it.)

2: When it enters Layout 3, it doesn't stop at the point I 'told' him to stop, but it immediately moves on to the next level.
(this problem begun when I'd put the Inventory and the menu button on the bottom of the window.)

3: When I enter layout 5, it immediately goes back to layout 4 and then back to Layout 5 again. It's also stuck somewhere, it doesn walk into the layout to the point where I 'told' him to go at the start of the layout.
(this problem begun when I'd put the Inventory and the Menu Button on the bottom of the window.)

I can't add a link here to the .capx file yet, so whenever I'm able to add links in topiics I'll add my project here.


Does anyone know how to fix these bugs?
I'm only working with this program for about 2 months, so I'm not really an expert.
B
3
Posts: 8
Reputation: 293

Post » Mon Oct 21, 2013 6:47 am

These issues probably won't be solved without the capx.

you could just put the link to the capx in your message as plain text , so without it being clickable.

I guess the easiest way would be to turn off collisions for the time it takes the player to get to it's starting position. Or to only activate or create the solids after the player has entered the room.
Also try to make sure the character has no interaction with the menu and inventory button.
I told my dentist I had trouble with my teeth and asked her to fix it without looking in my mouth..
B
54
S
16
G
8
Posts: 6,160
Reputation: 19,775

Post » Mon Oct 21, 2013 7:56 am

My prediction without seeing a capx is, maybe you have set the object to "Global" in it's properties? That could be causing the strange behaviour.
B
51
S
20
G
10
Posts: 571
Reputation: 9,819

Post » Tue Oct 22, 2013 12:17 pm

Thanks for commenting!
Does anyone know what my reputation must be to share links here? Or maybe if I'm able to send links via PM's?

LittleStain:
I like your idea about only enabling the solids when the player is 'inlevel'.
But it didn't help unfortunately.. When I fully disable the solids the problem is solved, but when I only enable the solids when the player is 'inlevel' it has the same problem, it gets stuck.. and it doesn't even enable the solids whenever it gets to the point where it triggers the player to be 'inlevel'.
B
3
Posts: 8
Reputation: 293

Post » Tue Oct 22, 2013 12:23 pm

You can always share links as plain text.

To share the links as a direct link you have to have 500 Rep, I believe.

but just copy your http:\\ here and we'll copy paste it into our browser.
I told my dentist I had trouble with my teeth and asked her to fix it without looking in my mouth..
B
54
S
16
G
8
Posts: 6,160
Reputation: 19,775

Post » Tue Oct 22, 2013 12:32 pm

I tried that but it didn't work.. it says I'm not yet able to share links.
Trying something different.. just enter the dropbox site and then:
/s/5gr08m6291i02rt/LostInADream.capx
B
3
Posts: 8
Reputation: 293

Post » Tue Oct 22, 2013 2:14 pm

The problem seems to go away when changing cell size.
If you also change the collision polygon to a smal circular or rectangular shape around the feet of the character it works great.
I told my dentist I had trouble with my teeth and asked her to fix it without looking in my mouth..
B
54
S
16
G
8
Posts: 6,160
Reputation: 19,775

Post » Tue Oct 22, 2013 3:16 pm

Thanks for helping, problem 2 and 3 are solved now! I recently changed the 'Default' animation of my character but forgot to set the collision polygon properly.

But the thing with changing the cell size is that you can get stuck at some points in the solids, so I'd rather not change that..
B
3
Posts: 8
Reputation: 293

Post » Wed Oct 30, 2013 7:08 pm

Anyone that knows how to fix this?
B
3
Posts: 8
Reputation: 293


Return to How do I....?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 21 guests