FireFox-Sound Loop Causes Screen Stop Refreshing?

Bugs will be moved here once resolved.

Post » Mon Feb 18, 2013 6:03 pm

Link to game:
http://16bitsoft.com/V2/Files/RocksInSpace_BetaTest2/index.html

Link to .capx file (required!):
http://16bitsoft.com/V2/Files/RocksInSpace_BetaTest2/RocksInSpace_BetaTest2.capx

Steps to reproduce:
1. Run game in Mozilla FireFox.
2. Press [Spacebar] to start new game.
3. Wait for game display to stop updating.

Observed result:
After few seconds, the game's webpage screen stops refreshing?
(input and game logic continue to work, but is not displayed)
- I've narrowed this down to playing a looping sound effect.
(it's the thrust sound effect that is causing this issue in FireFox)

Expected result:
As in Microsoft Internet Explorer 10 and Google Chrome I expect screen to update.

Browsers affected:
Chrome: no
Firefox: yes
Internet Explorer: no

Operating system & service pack:
Microsoft Windows 8 Professional 64Bit

Construct 2 version:
Release 119 64Bit
B
11
S
3
G
4
Posts: 105
Reputation: 2,950

Post » Mon Feb 18, 2013 8:17 pm

Can you reduce the project any further? Projects with more than just a few events are extremely hard to debug.
Scirra Founder
B
359
S
214
G
72
Posts: 22,949
Reputation: 178,544

Post » Mon Feb 18, 2013 9:15 pm

FWIW, I'm not seeing the refresh issue in Firefox. Also, it's not necessary to call Unmuted constantly as the key is down. You could separate it out and use trigger once with 'Up arrow is down' to unmute on the initial keydown.blackhornet2013-02-18 21:16:04
ImageImageImage
B
67
S
19
G
122
Posts: 3,202
Reputation: 73,391

Post » Mon Feb 18, 2013 10:51 pm

Hi,

I can't really reduce the events any lower than it is now.

What is the status of audio looping on FireFox?
(I read somewhere it might be an issue with this Internet browser)

The problem on my end is definitely
the player thrust looping sound effect.
(when I remove it the game runs normally)

Is there a command to check when an audio stops playing?
Was thinking I could play it once and check when finished and play again.

Thanks!

JeZ+Lee
B
11
S
3
G
4
Posts: 105
Reputation: 2,950

Post » Wed Feb 20, 2013 2:48 pm

It seems to work fine in Firefox Nightly (version 21). It could be a graphics driver issue and not actually related to audio, have you tried checking your drivers are up to date? Have you tried Nightly as well? It might be a Firefox bug that they already fixed.
Scirra Founder
B
359
S
214
G
72
Posts: 22,949
Reputation: 178,544


Return to Closed bugs

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests