First Game Completed

Show us your completed creations made in Construct 2

Post » Tue Mar 22, 2016 12:46 am

It is my first build. Used it as a learning tool to get familiar with using Construct 2.

Free on the arcade: https://www.scirra.com/arcade/action-games/temple-of-the-lost-6287
for people with keyboards...

Hoping it doesn't suck too much for a first attempt. No programming experience, just an old gamer kid from the 80s who misses his C64 and Amiga 500.
B
S
G

Post » Tue Mar 22, 2016 12:29 pm

Hi, i like ur game.

Suggestions:
add life.
add sound when pick a jewel.
add Uparrow = Jump.

Anyways, good work.
Cheers.
https://www.facebook.com/TeslaPCgames

https://www.twitter.com/TeslaPCGames

[email protected]

http://www.synergy-studios.net
B
S
G

Post » Tue Mar 22, 2016 7:03 pm

Thanks Tesla! It was a fun learning experiment. Thanks for looking!

I did originally have the jump command on the up arrow. Just turned off the jump command when the character was overlapping a ladder and then they could still use the up arrow to climb up as well, but then I discovered that if the character was overlapping a ladder and there was a need to jump to dodge a dart they wouldn't be able to jump and would get hit. So I switched it back to the way it is now.

I toiled with the idea of a life bar too. I figured the little kids in my family who I made it the game for might struggle a bit with getting killed, so I made the game for 'point loss' only where they could compete against each other for a high score - I should add a top ten high score page where players can enter their names. As of right now when ported to Windows the game only remembers the single best high score. It's also only 5 levels, not very long. I think I will go back and make a bigger version and a little harder for older players with the life bar.

My new project I am in the middle has been sucking up a lot of my spare time, top down shooter... maze runner... shotgun armed player... Nazi scum to deal with.
B