[FIXED]Text Box Issue

Get help using Construct 2

Post » Sat Jan 18, 2014 5:15 am

Hey everyone,

I'm newer to the Construct realm and started working on my first game. So far everything is working out just nice but I think there maybe an issue with the text box displaying things from the start of layout.



I setup a very simple example to test and it also did not work there. I must be missing something.

created a global var of Coins=0
setup the player and coin sprite
setup the collision of player to coin add value 1 to Coins

added a text box and every tick set text to Coins & " Coins"

From the guides that is pretty much it but on the start of the layout no text shows in the box. When I grab a coin the text then shows and stays showing until the layout is reloaded.

I tried to mess with is visible stuff but can't seem to figure it out.Marotta2014-01-18 18:39:28
B
6
Posts: 10
Reputation: 272

Post » Sat Jan 18, 2014 5:35 am


dropbox.com
/s/e2lswhj950jp74u/textboxtest.capx

had to break up the link...low rep =(
B
6
Posts: 10
Reputation: 272

Post » Sat Jan 18, 2014 7:39 am

I really must learn to read - I'll be back. After a proper look

Ok after leaping in with both feet and not reading your post correctly - I thought you were trying to set the text to ( & " Coins" ) ie included quotes around your variable name - sorry about that.

Anyway

I can see nothing wrong with your capx - the text box appear straight away with "0 Coins" displayed.RamPackWobble2014-01-18 07:51:07
August 2015 - I misplaced a lot of links - I will try to find backups and repost. If You find a post that interests please reply to post with @rampackwobble and I will get a nudge!

If you find my posts useful please consider donating something to a local charity or to the http://www.mndassociation.org/
B
64
S
33
G
47
Posts: 1,194
Reputation: 30,812

Post » Sat Jan 18, 2014 8:20 am

I downloaded your CAPX and everything went well. What is your question?
B
24
S
4
G
2
Posts: 96
Reputation: 2,467

Post » Sat Jan 18, 2014 5:39 pm

For me the text box does not show at the start until I get the first coin. I am not at my pc with construct on it but maybe a browser/version issue?

I'm using the latest construct 2, and using chrome (not sure version)


Thanks for responding and taking a look =)Marotta2014-01-18 18:19:40
B
6
Posts: 10
Reputation: 272

Post » Sat Jan 18, 2014 6:38 pm

I found the issue! I was on a very old version of Chrome. I just updated it and it now shows correctly for me...very strange.

Thanks again for reviewing my post guys.
B
6
Posts: 10
Reputation: 272


Return to How do I....?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: armen1997, Syazanie Amirin and 10 guests