Flickering animations

Get help using Construct 2

Post » Thu Oct 13, 2011 5:33 pm

I'm having a similar problem to my previous topic, minus the teleporting...

http://db.tt/61FvHuSV

The first one or two times each animation happens, it seems to flicker for a frame. After that, there isn't a problem. You can see it by running back and forth -- after a second you won't see any flickering. Then you can jump into the ? block, get the mushroom and become Super Mario, and the problem's back again for a few seconds since Super Mario has new animations.

I don't expect anyone to sift through my code, but if you want to take a look, all of his animations are set in the Mario event sheet, towards the bottom under the "Animations" comment.

I'm starting to suspect it might be something to do with my graphics card... [:\]
B
20
S
9
G
6
Posts: 607
Reputation: 6,112

Post » Thu Oct 13, 2011 5:54 pm

I see this flickering too on FireFox, for like an instant (when going left).
It makes me thing about some kind of loading delay due to the auto-mirror, as if the "other side" animations wouldn't be available in memory before the very moment you try to display it.

So, what about, in 1-1 sheet, on start of layout, trying to set mario's angle to 180 and set through all the animations, before setting him finally to the "start" animation and angle ?

Does it "correct" things up ?
If it does, but flickers at start, for the time of the startup, maybe consider displaying him as an effect, or something to "hide" the flickering. Once it is ok, simply display as intended.
New to Construct ? Where to start

Image Image
Image Image

Please attach a capx to any help request or bug report !
Moderator
B
247
S
85
G
40
Posts: 6,998
Reputation: 57,791

Post » Thu Oct 13, 2011 6:14 pm

Well, that doesn't eliminate it completely, but it's definitely a lot better. I had to run through all the animations and have a Wait action between each one for 0.01 seconds -- for some reason it didn't work at all without that.
B
20
S
9
G
6
Posts: 607
Reputation: 6,112

Post » Thu Oct 13, 2011 8:23 pm

Have the same problems like you. At R61 everything worked fine after updated to R62 the flickering started. Only workaround that worked for me was to delete the animations and reloaded them into C2. Maybe this will help as an idication what happen between R61 and R62.

Stormskull2011-10-13 20:23:36
B
2
G
1
Posts: 9
Reputation: 518

Post » Thu Oct 13, 2011 8:26 pm

D... delete them? But I have so many... and I'd have to re-do so many events! Aggghhh. If that's the only way, I guess I'll just have to grin and bear it.

Thanks for the workaround, even if I completely despise it. SullyTheStrange2011-10-13 20:26:46
B
20
S
9
G
6
Posts: 607
Reputation: 6,112

Post » Thu Oct 13, 2011 8:30 pm

Try it with one small animation. Made the same ... I have more buttons on the GUI than fingers on both hands so I started with one to see if its a bug linked to the animations. Let me know if it works for you as well. Right now I am thinking to downgrade back to R61 to avoid the deletion of all animations and reload them :)
B
2
G
1
Posts: 9
Reputation: 518

Post » Thu Oct 13, 2011 11:28 pm

Well, I tried it out, but it didn't seem to have any effect... What browser are you using? Maybe that makes a difference.
B
20
S
9
G
6
Posts: 607
Reputation: 6,112

Post » Fri Oct 14, 2011 12:33 am

I think this is caused by the Auto-mirror setting. The image is not mirrored until the first time it is used (the first time you move left). Due to the way the browser works, it doesn't seem to want to display a texture the same tick it's created, so it gets a one-tick blanking out the first time you turn left.

Is it any better in different browsers? It might be tricky to fix this.
Scirra Founder
B
359
S
214
G
72
Posts: 22,946
Reputation: 178,468

Post » Fri Oct 14, 2011 1:35 am

It happens in Chrome, Firefox, and IE for me. I don't have Opera or Safari but they're probably the same too.

So I guess it isn't possible to store the mirrored image before it's used? Sounds like that would fix it. Then again, I have no idea how complex this stuff is.
B
20
S
9
G
6
Posts: 607
Reputation: 6,112

Post » Fri Oct 14, 2011 1:51 am

[QUOTE=Ashley] I think this is caused by the Auto-mirror setting. The image is not mirrored until the first time it is used (the first time you move left). [/QUOTE]

Out of curiosity, why is that? Why not mirror it at the start when it finishes loading?
Moderator
B
87
S
32
G
33
Posts: 3,005
Reputation: 27,397

Next

Return to How do I....?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: imnotspecial, tomi71, totoe, Yahoo [Bot] and 11 guests